Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

The Weekend Wrap up

The wrap up actually starts Friday.

Friday, I had two inspections to do. One home started out life as a 2 bedroom, 1 bathroom home and has morphed into an entity all of its own. The home had no master suite, but did have an illegal addition on the back of the home, which the clients think they are going to turn into the master suite. The most effective way to do this would be to knock down the addition and start over.

House number two started out as a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom home, which has a combination of an original home, three additions, concrete block construction mixed with wood frame, fuses and two-prong receptacles mixed with a rusted out breaker panel…….and the list goes on and on! The Clients were going to choose between one of these two houses. If it were me, I would choose option C, none of the above!

The problem with homes like this, is that the things that are wrong are not easily documented. When doing an inspection report, I try to paint a picture of the home so that anyone reading one of my reports understands everything about the home. This takes a great deal of time to complete.

I finished the inspections and got back to the house at around 4:00. I received an e-mail from the city of Margate which had a review of a restaurant, LaPizzaria, which offers gluten-free pizza!!! The wife and I used to frequent this establishment early when we were dating and it was sort of a “hole-in-the-wall” strip mall pizza joint. Not any more!

When we arrived, we were greeted by a couple of the hosts and seated immediately. The whole place, as we found out after talking to the owner, was bought and redone a few years ago. The interior of the restaurant has been upgraded to faux finish walls, wrought iron gates and framed art work throughout. The tables, and why can’t any restaurant fix this, were nice but wobbled! The chairs were standard chairs with padding.

On to the dinner. I ordered the 12 inch pizza with pepperoni, mushrooms, and onions with the anti pasta salad. The wife got the calzone. The pizza arrived in about 20 minutes:

pizza

They did not have any gluten-free beer to go with the pizza, but did allow me to bring my own!

pizza_beer

Gluten free pizza usually consists of a cardboard crust and minimal toppings and sauce. This pizza, as you can see, looks almost like a regular pizza. LaPizzaria always had good food, but when I found out about my gluten issues, it was one of many places I couldn’t go to eat. Now, it will definitely be put back in the rotation!

The crust was crunchy, but not too crunchy and had almost a pastry flavor to it. The toppings were fresh and this was the first decent pizza I have had in years!!!

Saturday morning, the family went to the heart walk and completed the 2-mile, it was supposed to be a 5K, course. Teala got to run the 2 miles while Marshall and I ran/walked it.

marshall_hw heart_walk_start

Marshall is in training for his first race, at the 2013 Disney Wine and Dine 1/2 Marathon, he will be competing in the 200 meter dash!

After the run, time to get to work on the inspection reports…which took all day!!!! In fact, I didn’t finish until around 11:00 pm!

Sunday, was a day to relax and since we lost an hour of sleep, it was much-needed.

Today I have to work and then I will go to the gym. I didn’t keep a food diary this weekend, but will resume that today.

Speaking of food, those that are playing the drinking game should have already had a “few”, so here is one more for you.

In preparation for this Saturdays 17 mile run, I have decided I need more fuel than what Carrabbas can supply. To that end, I will get up at 3:00 am and make the following:

pb_bannanna

That would be three Vans gluten-free waffles, one banana cut up, liberal doses of peanut butter, and syrup! Delicious! I’ll have to see how many calories this is and combined with a Boost, should be enough to get me through the run. I just hope I can “contain” everything during the run!

Tuesday is a work day, Wednesday I have my annual physical and a return to therapy for my last two sessions, then, Thursday  I will do a slow 3-mile run in preparation for Saturday. Friday will be an off day with the exception of therapy.

A busy week ahead…………………

March 11, 2013 - Posted by | Health and Fitness, Running | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment