Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

This is the end………………………………………………….

Last months post detailed the re-injury of my left knee. Now that the MRI has been completed, there is more bad news.

Two weeks prior to my annual golf tournament, I played a warm up round of 36 holes. I have only played nine holes of golf in the last year, so I figured I should get some practice in!

The first 18 holes went as well as expected. The second 18 was much better until the 16th hole. I hit my second shot on that hole from the rough in an awkward stance. I hit a fairly decent shot, however, there was tremendous pain in my left knee causing me to fall down.

The pain was eerily familiar to when I first tore my ACL, minus the “pop” sound. I finished the round, went home and iced down the knee. It was swollen, fluid was present and it hurt……a lot!

I made an appointment to see Dr. Baylis after I returned from my golf tournament, where I played 90 holes of golf in three days.

After seeing the doctor, we did an MRI, which revealed, that I stretched my ACL, loosened the anchor point, and tore my posterior cruciate ligament, as well as tearing several areas of meniscus.

Fortunately, no surgery is required…at this time. Rest, ice, and anti-inflammatory medication is the treatment in order to prolong the time until the next surgery is required. Sort of bad news, good news!

After doing the MRI, the next day, my left shoulder stopped working!!!! I had no strength, and couldn’t lift my arm above horizontal. It appears after the Tequila wore off, my shoulder is damaged. The Doctor thinks it is a torn rotator cuff. Yippee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

An MRI, yes, another one, I suspect I should be glowing in the dark fairly soon, was done Monday and I am awaiting the results. Hopefully, this won’t require surgery or if it does, it won’t be as extensive as the surgery on my right shoulder was in 2012.

The knees have simmered down to the point where there is minimal pain. I am wearing a pair of ACE knee braces whenever I do anything strenuous…….like walking!

What does this mean for the running career? It means that I will more than likely run/walk with my wife at the Disney Wine and Dine half marathon in November, then, hang up the running shoes.

The blog will then concentrate on cooking, cycling, events, and hopefully, if all goes as planned, “Project Barracuda”! 😉

Thanks to all of those that have followed me on this blog, Facebook and Linkedin. Your support is greatly appreciated!

September 4, 2014 - Posted by | Health and Fitness, Running | , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Mate … Take care!

    Comment by CultFit | September 4, 2014 | Reply

    • Thanks! I’ii try my best!

      Comment by magnuminsp | September 4, 2014 | Reply

  2. Sorry to hear man, that sucks. There’s always cycling…?

    Comment by bgddyjim | September 4, 2014 | Reply

    • Yep! I will be training for the upcoming wine and dine race using cycling, the elliptical machine and stationary bike. At least I’ll make it to the race!

      Comment by magnuminsp | September 5, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

