Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

The pain at wounded knee returns…………………………….

For those that follow this blog as well as my friends, you are all aware of my damaged left knee. For those that aren’t, the gory details can be found here: The Pain at Wounded Knee.

The long and short of it is, due to a botched surgery in 1998, I ended up tearing my ACL, MCL, PCL, meniscus and cartilage. In other words, just about as bad a knee injury that there is.

A timeline for surgery has been established at roughly every five years. The last surgery in 2010 was extensive and, there was a piece of something, lodged in the back of my knee. On occasion, this piece would wander around and every once in a while, lock up my knee. A little massage and the knee was back to normal. This never occurred when running so, I kept running. Unfortunately, other issues have shown up like the massive stress fractures in both legs, the broken bone spur in my left foot, and recently, the partial tear of my Achilles tendon in my right leg.

Monday night while sleeping if you can call it that, as there are a whole host if things that go “bump” in the night around here, starting with the blood curdling scream from our son at 2 am, followed by Samantha massaging my bladder and then ending with Sophia with her big head and loud purr in my face at 4 am, the wife was somewhat surprised to hear loud screaming coming from our bedroom, from me!!

Whatever the wandering piece of debris was, it has now broken free from its mooring and wandered its way into the middle of my knee. I couldn’t move my left leg below my knee in either direction. The pain was intense and for those that know me, that is a lot of pain! After 20 minutes of massage, I was able to move my knee a little bit. Yesterday, it was swollen and very stiff. Today, it locked up on me at the gym….which I would expect if I was working out legs, not chest and arms!

In two weeks, I am attending my annual golf tournament in Sebring, Fl. This will be the 20th year for this event. The question is, “How am I going to play 100 holes of golf…when I can barely walk”? I could pay Dr. Baylis a visit, but he will say two things. 1) You need another surgery to clean this knee out. 2) Stop running. I can deal with the first statement, but not the second. He may also say something else which I do not want to hear, and that is, that the time has come, to stop prolonging the inevitable.

When I first saw Dr. Baylis in 1998, he told me then that if we were extremely lucky, we would be able to prolong the eventual knee replacement for possibly 20 years. If my math is correct, we are at year 16. Can another surgery be done to get to 20 years? When will it have to be done? That is the big question!

If I get the surgery done after Spring Lake, the 3rd week in August, it will take approximately six weeks to recover, depending on how bad things are. That will put me into October which would allow me 5 weeks of training for the Disney Wine and Dine Half Marathon. Although I ran the A1A Half Marathon with virtually no training, at least the Wine and Dine was only two months prior to that race. It will be at minimum, 8 months since the last run if I start training in October. I could always defer the race until next year, but by then, who knows what will happen. I still have torn meniscus in my right knee to correct at some point in time. I could also just run with my wife at the Wine and Dine, and end the running career after that…………….

The next month will be very interesting so stay tuned!!

July 30, 2014 - Posted by | Health and Fitness, Running | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Buy a bike brother. If you have a bike, buy a better one, a freaking Ferrari bike or my favorite, a McLaren bike (damned drool reflex) and ride it (after you get that hunk of crap out of your knee).

    You may be different, but cycling is WAY more fun for me than running and I did like running a lot. You’re one of this who has too much wrong to keep running. Embrace it and your inner cyclist. No more pain is pretty sexy.

    Comment by bgddyjim | July 30, 2014 | Reply

    • I do have a bike and although it isn’t a high end bike, it is comfortable to ride. I will have to see what the doc has to say as even riding a stationary bike hurts. I always liked biking but as I have gotten older, I am more fearful of being run over, even up here, than anything else. There is a nice little loop I have already mapped out of about 25 miles which goes from the house in Palm City, to Hutchinson Island, then around through Jensen Beach and back through Stuart to home…………….. 🙂 Thanks for the reply!

      Comment by magnuminsp | July 31, 2014 | Reply

      • You bet brother, traffic is tough, especially down there, I know it gets busy. Don’t be afraid to ask for decent loops at a local bike shop too… Our shop owner knows every decent road there is for a 100 mile radius. Good luck with the knee man.

        Comment by bgddyjim | July 31, 2014


Leave a Reply

