Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

On to the next Race!

It is three days after the Wine and Dine 1/2 marathon. Looking back on this race, there is good and bad. I’ll start with the bad first.

Bad:

  1. I didn’t get the finish time I was looking for.

Good:

  1. I got to see my son run his first race!
  2. My wife showed a lot of guts just to finish this race. I am very proud of her.
  3. I managed to survive the race with no new injuries.
  4. All of the modifications, except one worked to perfection.
  5. Another medal!

The only issue during the race was dehydration. That was caused by more than likely, loss of salt. My black running shorts were almost white with salt stains after the race. During the coming weeks, I will change the diet a little bit to prevent this from happening.

My next scheduled event, there may be a 5K or two in between, is the A1A Marathon. You will notice, there was no “1/2” in front of that word!

The gang in Fort Lauderdale are feverishly working on this years medal. And what a medal it is!

a1a_medal_2014

I can’t wait to run this race!

Training will begin or should I say resume, after Thanksgiving. In the meantime, I may have to revert to my old high school football days and start “two-a-days”, aka, two trips to the gym for some extensive low impact cardio training to lose weight. I need to shed roughly 30 pounds by January and then settle into the last 10 pounds, the month leading up to the race. That will be roughly 40 pounds of weight loss.

The “diet” will be just a standard healthy diet of fruit, vegetables, meats, in moderation. The family will have to live with the effects of a lactose/fructose intolerant individual, but it will only be for four months! If I can take it, so can they! 🙂

I’ll start the food diary next week and post daily to chart my progress.

Stay tuned…this should be a hoot!

November 13, 2013 - Posted by | Health and Fitness, Home, Running | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

