Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Update and Friend Making Monday!

The update is, that we will be moving next month!!

It looks like our move next year has been hastened by the four hours of driving time between my wife and myself and the $1,200.00 fuel bill last month!

We will be moving to either Stuart of Palm City where we will rent for a year to get the “lay of the land” then, sell our home here and buy up there. In the meantime, we will be renting our home here in Coconut Creek.

As the boat will be moved soon, it was time for some repairs. First, the complete flush of the tilt/trim motor fluid and now the motor goes up and down, like it should. Next, a set of tires for the trailer and then a little engine and canopy work, and the Mako will be back in action!

I have cancelled my membership at the gym and July will be my last month there. In Palm city, they have a 24 hour fitness!!

On the running front, the left leg is completely healed and there is no pain in my right leg. It is probably 80% healed so, it looks like training will resume in September. There is a running store in Stuart and also I have access to physical therapy, to prevent any further injury. It appears as though the stock $29.95 shoes from Target are the best shoes to walk around in. Those inserts I got from Sports Authority never made it back to the store, fortunately for me as they are now in these shoes. That appears to be helping in the recovery!

It looks like the size 12 shoes in the neutral pronation will be my new shoes. We will see what the running store gurus have to say.

August is a big month. My annual golf tournament, Marshall gets his tubes out and his annual brain scan, then….off to school for him!

I can’t wait until September!!!!

And now, courtesy of my friend Kenlie, Friend Making Mondays!

Ten Simple Questions

1. When you looked at yourself in the mirror today, what was the first thing you thought?  Why am I here?

2. Do you prefer to pay for things with cash or plastic? I use the credit card for everything..we get rewards points for our Marriott and Disney cards! 🙂

3. What is one word that you use too often? It is a phrase, “In the end”..

4. Who is the last person outside of your family who said “I love you” to you?  My friend Paul…a “survivor”!

5. When was the last time you wrote a letter to someone and mailed it?About 25 years ago.

6. Have you ever been called upon for jury duty?  Yes.

7.  How many keys are on your key ring?  None! The Durango has a start button and a key fob. I do have 150 of those plastic things for every store imaginable!

8.  List two characteristics that you want to change about yourself. I wish I could relax a little more…..

9.  Do you bring your own shampoo and conditioner when you travel, or do you use what the hotel provides? Yes, but they are in Disney bottles!!

10. What is your birthstone?  Do you like it?  Peridot, some sort of green stone. It is what it is. I’d prefer either Ruby or Amethyst.

Now it’s your turn to answer this week’s questions.  Don’t forget to come back and link up in the comments!  Happy Monday, friends……

June 24, 2013 - Posted by | Health and Fitness, Running | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Came by from FMM. I’m with you on using credit for the points, and I think of all the responses I’ve read, so far you’re the only other person who has shared my answer. As to birthstone, I’m peridot too and it’s funny because I almost listed “it is what it is” as the phrase I use too much! I’d much prefer several other birthstones over peridot, but it doesn’t really matter at all to me.

    Comment by Carina | June 24, 2013 | Reply

    • We use our Marriott card for everything, including business expenses. I have to write two checks and mail them in separate envelopes, but we average 4,000 points a month! The two-night stay in the Keys in 2010 was free…at least the room was free! 🙂

      Comment by magnuminsp | July 24, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

