Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

A month of doing nothing finally ends…………………..

It has actually been over a month since the injury to both legs occurred. For the last six weeks, I have done zero cardio activity, with the exception of crawling though a bunch of attics in 90 degree heat!

Last week I returned to the gym to work on strengthening my upper body. Today was the first “real” workout and, here it is:

June 04, 2013

EXERCISES Calories Minutes Sets Reps Weight
Strength Training
Seated Biceps Curl (right arm) 5 10 35
Shoulder shrugs for traps 5 10 20
Standard Bench Press 4 10 165
The 21’s 3 10 10
Triceps Pull-down 4 10 80
Triceps Push Down 3 10 45
Seated Biceps Curl (left arm) 5 10 35
TOTALS: 0 0 29 70 390

I am happy to report, that the right shoulder and biceps, is healed up to the point, where I don’t have to worry about re-injuring either. I have a few goals for the weight training, but for now, it will be light workouts like the one above, three times a week.

My left leg has no pain, which is right about on the timeline, six weeks, that was predicted. The right leg, has minimal pain. Two months to go, and if all goes well, training for the Disney Wine and Dine will start.

The weight has been holding steady at around 222 pounds which if I can get down to 215 pounds prior to training for Disney, I should be in real good condition for that run.

The hardest part of this whole issue is not being able to run. Anyone who knows me well, knows I tend to do things “all out”…..sometimes to my detriment!

I just wanted to update all of this blogs followers, that I have not given up and will continue to train!

Have a great week!!

June 4, 2013 - Posted by | Health and Fitness, Running | , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Glad you’re healing up brother. Welcome back.

    Comment by bgddyjim | June 4, 2013 | Reply

    • Thanks!
      I’ll be much happier when I am all the way back!!

      Comment by magnuminsp | June 4, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

