Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Back from the Doc…………………………………..

I have returned from the doctor and the news is mostly good! X-rays were taken of my entire right leg, knee and ankle, and…………………………..no fractures were detected. We are still going to do a bone scan for my right shin to make sure there are no stress fractures, so training is on hold for now. My doctor thinks that the new-found pain is a result of changing my running style. He advised me to slow down a bit until my body can get used to the new running style, which is a mid-strike landing as opposed to a heel to toe landing. I think, in the long-term, this will be a better running method as the heel to toe method wears out the heels of my shoes in about a month! Plus, that method hurts my hips and the mid-strike method does not. Since I got the clean bill of health, it is time to register for the Disney Marathon in January 2014!! This will be my first marathon!!!! 🙂

On to the diet. I stepped on the scale today and weighed 226 pounds! If all goes well, I will finally break on to the other side of the 220 pound range and then, lose even more weight. Speaking of food, yesterdays diary:

April 24, 2013

FOODS Calories Carbs Fat Protein Cholest Sodium Sugars Fiber
Breakfast
Jones All Natural Golden Brown – Breakfast Sausage Link-Fully Cooked, 2 Links 167 1g 16g 5g 30mg 253mg 0g 0g
Lunch
Chicken – Breast, meat only, cooked, fried, 0.5 breast, bone and skin removed 161 0g 4g 29g 78mg 68mg 0g 0g
Dinner
Pork – Fresh, loin, center rib (roasts), bone-in, cooked, roasted, 1 piece, cooked, excluding refuse (yield from 1 lb raw meat with refuse) 571 0g 34g 61g 164mg 103mg 0g 0g
Snacks
Kraft – Colby and Monteray Jack Cheese, 3 oz 300 0g 27g 18g 75mg 660mg 0g 0g
Peter Pan – Crunchy Peanut Butter, 1 tbsp (32g) 100 3g 8g 4g 0mg 55mg 2g 2g
Liquids
Lipton – Decaffeinated Tea Bags, 3 Tea Bag 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
Supplements
Bsn – N.O. Xplode, 1 scoop 25 6g 0g 0g 0mg 235mg 0g 0g
TOTAL: 1,324 10g 89g 117g 347mg 1,374mg 2g 2g

I am trying to keep under 20 carbohydrates and in the 1,500 calorie intake range. The best part of the low carbohydrate diet is that I really do feel much better. I can breathe better and “feel” lighter.

Tomorrow is more work, Saturday is Marshall’s third and final birthday party, and Sunday will be spent relaxing in the pool! For Marshall’s party, we will be having smoked Boston Butt for pulled pork, smoked ribs, smoked/grilled chicken, cole slaw, baked beans and dessert. I’ll try to make a blog post with pictures!

I hope everyone has a great weekend!!

April 25, 2013 - Posted by | Health and Fitness, Running | , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

