Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Onward………………..

Now that another race is in the books, it is time for some evaluation.

The last race  and for that matter, each race I have participated in, I have learned something about myself. This time out, it was that I can work my way through anything. Some other lessons learned were that I feel much better on a low carbohydrate diet. I don’t know why, but I just do. The other notable item from the previous race was the lack of pain in my hips.  That was a big worry that has gone away. That also clears the way for marathon training. Later today, I will be signing up for the Disney Marathon in January 2014. But first, a visit to the doctor is in order to check out my entire right leg. Three days after the race and there is still pain present. It is eerily reminiscent of when I broke my elbow. The stabbing pain coming from what appears to be a bone. Thursday I will find out for sure.

In the meantime, yesterdays food diary:

April 22, 2013

FOODS Calories Carbs Fat Protein Cholest Sodium Sugars Fiber
Breakfast
Jones All Natural Golden Brown – Breakfast Sausage Link-Fully Cooked, 4 Links 333 1g 32g 9g 60mg 507mg 0g 0g
Lunch
Kraft – Monteray Jack Cheese, 3 oz 330 3g 27g 21g 90mg 570mg 0g 0g
Dinner
Steak – New York Strip, 10 oz 550 0g 11g 29g 54mg 66mg 0g 0g
Snacks
Generic – Jones All Natural Fully Cooked Sausage Links, 2 link 170 0g 16g 5g 30mg 254mg 0g 0g
Claussen Pickles – Kosher Dill Halves, 1/2 pickle half 5 1g 0g 0g 0mg 270mg 0g 0g
Liquids
Diet Sierra Mist – Diet Soda, 24 oz 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 70mg 0g 0g
Lipton – Decaffeinated Tea Bags, 3 Tea Bag 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
Supplements
Bsn – N.O. Xplode, 1 scoop 25 6g 0g 0g 0mg 235mg 0g 0g
TOTAL: 1,413 11g 86g 64g 234mg 1,972mg 0g 0g

Low carbohydrate and low-calorie!

Checking the ketone strips, I am back to dark purple on the scale, so, the weight loss should continue. If I do indeed have a broken leg or damaged knee and I have to take time off from running, at least I will be losing weight!

The rest of today will be resting. Wednesday and Friday I have inspections to do and Thursday is Doctor day! Thursday is also the first day of the wife’s new job which means, I will start taking Marshall to school and picking him up every day. I am about to become “Mr. Mom”!

I will continue to post the diet diary and Thursday will be the next big post. I hope the doctor brings good news!!

April 23, 2013 - Posted by | Health and Fitness, Running | , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I hope everything checks out fine at the doctor. You have been going such great work, keep it up!

    Comment by CultFit | April 23, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

