Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Race around the lake recap Part 1

Here is the recap for the weekends racing event. It is being broken down into two separate posts. This entry will be the race, stats, preparation, etc. Part two will be a review of the event itself.

Friday: The wife and I left for Clermont around 1:30. At 5:00, we arrived at the designated place for our race package pickup. We went in, the wife and Marshall went to the bathroom and I got our race packets. In all, it took four minutes!!! I also got some inside information from one of the volunteers to park on 5th street.  This would be the last thing to go right at this event. Turns out, by driving down fifth street, you ended up at the start/finish line parking spot!

race site

We then drove over to Tealas fathers house, which was only two miles away and set out to dinner. The usual dining spot for the pre-race meal is Carrabbas. We went in and got seated right away.

This week, I have been limiting my carbohydrate intake to less than 30. I managed to lose 12 pounds by race-day and also, seemed to feel lighter. There wasn’t the “full” feeling after meals and, as always seems to happen, I felt great all week, with the exception of Tuesday. During Tuesdays run, I heard a “snap” from somewhere in my right knee. After the run, my lower right leg was sore and I could hardly walk. During the week, I iced down the leg, took several baths and used the 18-inch foam roller as much as possible. By Friday, I was about 90% healthy so I was going to race! Back to dinner……………………………….

I had read recently that someone competing in a 100 mile iron-man race, did so on a low carbohydrate diet. I figured this race would be a good time to test this diet out.

Here is Friday nights dinner:

April 19, 2013

FOODS Calories Carbs Fat Protein Cholest Sodium Sugars Fiber
Breakfast
Jones All Natural Golden Brown – Breakfast Sausage Link-Fully Cooked, 4 Links 333 1g 32g 9g 60mg 507mg 0g 0g
Lunch
Eric’s burgers – hamburger , 1 patty 200 0g 11g 22g 75mg 75mg 0g 0g
Dinner
Carrabbas – Mussels “Cozze Bianco”, 464 g 570 12g 20g 48g 10mg 350mg 2g 0g
Carrabbas – The Johnny (From Website), 1 Serving 700 6g 47g 60g 188mg 989mg 1g 1g
Carrabbas – Shrimp Scampi Appetizer, 1 serving 1,200 1g 22g 26g 247mg 392mg 0g 0g
Carrabbas – Chargrilled Ribeye Steak 10 0z., 10 oz. (208g) 539 4g 36g 50g 162mg 179mg 0g 0g
Liquids
Fb Red Wine – Fb Merlot, 2 container (8 oz ea.) 400 13g 0g 0g 0mg 19mg 3g 0g
Supplements
Bsn – N.O. Xplode, 1 scoop 25 6g 0g 0g 0mg 235mg 0g 0g
TOTAL: 3,967 43g 168g 215g 742mg 2,746mg 6g 1g

As you can see, the carbohydrates were limited at this meal and the calories were nearly 4,000. The waitresses were all looking at me as I finished the rib-eye steak. I had already eaten the mussels, shrimp, and “The Johnny”, and when I asked for the rib-eye, our waitress asked, “Is that to go?” Believe it or not, I wasn’t “full feeling” but I was not hungry!

Race-day Saturday April 20, 2013:

3:30 am: Woke up and had my serving of Noxplode and a Zero Carb protein shake.

4:00 am– Eliminations (drinking game participants imbibe)

4:30 am: Attach race bib to shirt and also get all of the water bottles filled and make all preparations for the race.

Lake_m_bib

5:00 am: Load up the Durango and head to the race..unfortunately, someone wasn’t ready…………………………

5:45 am: Head to the race.

6:00 am: Arrive at the race

6:30 am: Take all needed medications (Advil, Vicodin, Nitrix)

7:00 am: Start race……..or so we thought!

7:25 am: Everyone at the race recited the “Pledge of Allegiance”  and had a moment of silence for those who lost their lives and the injured, in Boston.

boston

7:30 am: The start of the race………………………….

Mile 1:     12:26 This was the fastest I have ever started a race!!!

Mile 2:     11:55

Mile 3:     11:59   (5K time 36:20 a PR!!!!)

Mile 4:     12:04

Mile 5:     11:53  (total time: 1:00:17 another PR!!!!!)

Mile 6:     12:07  Still cruising and at this point, there was no pain..at all!

Mile 7:     12:59  At this point, things began to go horribly wrong!

Mile 8:     14:18

Mile 9:     16:12

Mile 10:   14:01

Mile 11:    13:05   And I never fully recovered…………………………………

Mile 12:    12:49

Mile 13:    13:19

Total Miles: 13.2                       Total time: 2:51:53                         Average pace: 13:20

Chip time:                                    Total Time 2:50:59                        Average Pace: 13:03

As you can see, almost near the end of mile seven, I developed a pain that I have never felt before. I had cramps in both legs from my buttocks all the way down to my ankles. The best way to describe it, was being hit by lightning and then, having 20 hands grab and squeeze your legs as hard as possible. At the Tower of Terror run last year, I had cramps in my calves. It went away and wasn’t that bad. In this race however, the pain was severe and it was instant, there was no warning. I was nearly paralyzed. I staggered over to a nearby fence, and tried to stretch, but this didn’t help. I continued walking and massaging my legs and finally, a water station was in view so I ran a little bit. When I got to the water station, I refilled my water bottles and also drank four cups of water.

I continued to walk and halfway into mile 10, began to run. There was still slight cramping, but it was a lot better. I drank all of the water in my fuel belt…60 ounces, by the time I reached mile 11. I refueled the bottles again and had a couple of cups of water while the girl was filling my bottles.

Mile 11-13 I ran and walked at a reduced setting on my run/walk interval app. 45 seconds running/60 seconds walking. By the time I finished, I felt fine. I crossed the finish line in a full sprint with two other girls that were running with me most of the race. We would pass each other during walk intervals, and sort of developed a little race banter as they were also wearing the Boston tag in the picture above, that I was.

Looking at the numbers from Endomondo, I have to conclude that this race was about a half a mile short. When I made the final turn, the Endomondo tracker voice announced 13.1 miles……..before I even finished!

ratl_finish

I waited for the wife to finish and ran with her as she crossed the finish line.

We went back to the Durango, had a couple of beers and went back to her dads place for Marshalls second birthday party of the month.

Conclusions:

  1. Running the race on a low carbohydrate diet can be done and will be done in my future races.
  2. The cause of the cramping appears to be related to a lack of water consumption. I remember at the Tower of Terror race, everyone was complaining about the heat. It wasn’t the heat, it was the humidity, which if I remember was around 95%. For this race, it was 93%.
  3. Although I did have a major scare with regards to the cramping, I now know, I can run through it. It never happened in the training runs, but I did adapt to it during the race.
  4. After consuming the nearly 4,000 calorie meal, I was full of energy all day before, during, and after the race. We didn’t go to bed until around 9:30 pm.

Injuries: The injury to my right leg, which I thought had healed, clearly hasn’t. In fact, I could barely walk on the way up the stairs going to bed Saturday night. Today was no fun either. I will be calling the doctor tomorrow and try to get in to see exactly what is causing this pain.

My left knee, and in fact every other part of my body feels fine. I could probably go out and run right now.

Even better news, is that the hip pain that usually shows up around mile 11, was nowhere to be found! Today there is still no pain in my hips!! This was the one thing that wold have prevented me from running in a full marathon as when my hips start to hurt, they actually “lock up” and I can barely move my legs.

Equipment:

The new Motorola 600 headphones worked perfectly. The Motoroal Atrix2 phone, also worked perfectly. The fuel belt now requires an adjustment as I have lost around an inch from my waist! The new Saucony shoes show little wear and the wear they do show is very even. This is great news and I appear to be running using a mid-foot strike, which in the long run, will be much better than the heel to toe style I was using before.

Although I am disappointed, for the first 7 miles, I was well on my way to a personal best and very close to a 2:30 pace. That will have to wait until the next race, The Disney Wine and Dine!!!!

Tomorrow will be part two of this post which be a review of the race.

As a small preview, when my wife finished, they had run out of medals…….and it goes downhill from there.

April 21, 2013 - Posted by | Health and Fitness, Running | , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. That’s rough brother… I was going to suggest a lack of electrolytes as the possible source of cramping. I ran into that last year after my first cycling century… I concentrated on electrolyte tabs in the water bottles and Gatorade after and things got much better… Can’t be a lack of salt after that dinner… Whoa! Hope that knee is ok.

    Comment by bgddyjim | April 22, 2013 | Reply

  2. I had thought about the electrolytes as well, as I only had two 10 oz bottles of Gatorade on board. I did drink about 6 cups of Gatorade at the water stations. It may have something to do with the low carbohydrate diet and the wife is going to check into that. The knee seems worse this morning. I have preferred seating at my doctors office, so hopefully, I can get in today or tomorrow! Thanks for the comment!!

    Comment by magnuminsp | April 22, 2013 | Reply

  3. […] Since the disaster after the race around the lake in April, I knew some things had to change. The first was the switch to a stabilizing shoe, the Saucony Omni […]

    Pingback by Faux Tower of Terror Run! « Eric Van De Vens Blog | October 7, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

