Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Another week..already??????

I hate being busy!! Then again, I shouldn’t complain!

To catch up, we had Easter dinner at Tealas parents. The usual fare of delicious food. I have to give a special thanks to “Nana” aka Sue, for getting me gluten-free bagels, which were delicious!!  I will have to find out where she got them from as Udis doesn’t even have them!! Udis bagels

After we got back, it was time for the quarterly 7-day cleanse. And boy, did I need it! Let’s just say, I was “dirty inside” and leave it at that. 🙂

I have finally recovered from the fiberglass poisoning incident as well as the supplement overdose.

And, as I alluded to in the last post, the Wife has received a substantial promotion! She is now the Director of Nutrition at the new HealthSouth in Stuart! As it would be too hectic to move now, we will be relocating north, sometime next year, probably in-between the school year break, so we don’t upset Marshall too much.

Having scouted the area previously, I will be glad to get to a place with a much slower pace. And, if all goes well, we will be even closer to the beach, as well as to both of our parents.

On to the running!

Taking three weeks off may not have been one of my best ideas, but, my body needed it. My legs have been hurting from work and combined with the training  it was getting to be too much pain for me.

Saturday was the first run in almost a month. The numbers were predictable, but, I wasn’t in any pain after the run. That is the key at this point with another race in two weeks. Speaking of that, the Race Around the Lake, which will be Saturday the 20th, seems to be a straight forward affair. While we were at Tealas parents for Easter, we drove the course as their home is right at the top of the lake. Too bad the start is at the bottom of the lake!

Here are the results of Saturdays run:

Mile 1: 13:15

Mile 2: 13:29  Slowest mile

Mile 3: 13:19

Mile 4: 13:14

Mile 5: 12:36   Fastest mile.

Total:5.30       Time:1:09:48                                 Pace: 13:10

That isn’t bad for the first run and the 12:36 on the last mile is what I was looking for. Not tired or sore. Tuesday will be another 5 miles, Thursday another 5 miles, and Saturday, 10 miles. I would like to finish the 10 mile run in 1:45. That should get me to around 2:30 for the 1/2 marathon the following week. That is the goal anyway.

I have also returned to the gym, although we still have another 2 1/2 months to go before my biceps is fully healed.

Here is this mornings workout:

April 8, 2013

EXERCISES Calories Minutes Sets Reps Weight
Strength Training
Seated Biceps Curl  Right arm only 3 15 30
Standard Bench Press 3 20 95
The 21’s 3 15 10
Triceps Pull-down 3 20 65
Seated Biceps Curl  Left arm only 3 15 30
TOTALS: 0 0 15 85 230

My doctor gave me explicit instructions not to use any heavy weight. He did say to increase the repetitions, and then, the sets.  Wednesday and Friday will be 5 sets of 20 repetitions for each exercise! That should be fun!!

Tomorrow I will post the food diary and run results. I have an inspection booked already for tomorrow and Friday, with two more waiting to confirm. It is also Marshall’s birthday tomorrow and his party is Saturday. Five years old…..it seems like yesterday!!!

April 8, 2013 - Posted by | Health and Fitness, Running, Weight Training | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

