Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Day two back at the gym…………………..

Before I get into todays workout, here is yesterdays food diary:

February 26, 2013

FOODS Calories Carbs Fat Protein Cholest Sodium Sugars Fiber
Breakfast
Bsn – N.O. Xplode, 1 scoop 25 6g 0g 0g 0mg 235mg 0g 0g
Jones All Natural Golden Brown – Breakfast Sausage Link-Fully Cooked, 3 Links 250 1g 24g 7g 45mg 380mg 0g 0g
Lunch
Claussen Pickles – Kosher Dill Halves, 1 pickle half 10 2g 0g 0g 0mg 540mg 0g 0g
Hillshire Farm Deli Select – Honey Ham – Thin Sliced 142 g (5 oz). 57 g Per 6 Slices, 28.5 g 35 2g 1g 5g 15mg 375mg 2g 0g
Dinner
Birds Eye – Steamfresh Fresh Frozen Vegetables Asparagus, Gold & White Corn, Baby Carrots, 0.3335 cup 35 7g 0g 1g 0mg 8mg 2g 1g
Lettuce – Iceberg (includes crisphead types), raw, 1 cup shredded 10 2g 0g 1g 0mg 7mg 1g 1g
Arin’s Chicken – Boneless/Skinless Chicken Breast , 4 ounces 120 0g 2g 26g 65mg 75mg 0g 0g
Snacks
Cheetos 100 Calorie Pack – Baked Crunchy, 1 package 100 14g 4g 2g 0mg 180mg 1g 0g
Kraft Natural Cheese – Extra Sharp Cheddar, 2 oz or 28g 240 0g 20g 12g 60mg 360mg 0g 0g
Albertsons – Grapefruit, Raw, Pink & Red, All Areas, 1 fruit 104 26g 0g 2g 0mg 0mg 16g 4g
Correct – Bannana 6″-6 7/8″, 1 medium ( 6″-6 7/8″) 90 23g 0g 0g 0mg 1mg 12g 3g
Yoplait – Greek 100 Calorie Fat Free Yogurt – Vanilla, 1 container 100 11g 0g 13g 5mg 55mg 7g 0g
TOTAL: 1,119 94g 51g 69g 190mg 2,216mg 41g 9

If you look at the numbers, somehow I am low on calories. I have also added fruit to my diet as well as some vegetables.

On to the workout today:

February 27, 2013

EXERCISES Calories Minutes Sets Reps Weight
Strength Training
Bench (Chest) Press, Machine (right arm) 3 15 30
Seated Biceps Curl (right arm) 3 15 5
Triceps Extension (right arm) 3 15 10
Bench (Chest) Press, Machine 3 15 50
Seated Biceps Curl 3 15 35
Triceps Extension 3 15 20
Standard Bench Press 5 15 65
TOTALS: 0 0 23 105 215

Exercise Notes

Lower weights are with the right arm only.

I increased the weight slightly on all exercises and also increased the number of sets on the bench press to 5. It appears the shoulder surgery has really, really, weakened my right arm. During the triceps workout, my right arm was shaking to the point where I had to use the left arm to stabilize it. I got through the workout and didn’t hurt myself. That is the key goal here, to avoid any setbacks.

The only benefit  visually anyway, of the surgery, is that when they reattached the biceps tendon, it stretches it and, the end result is a very nicely formed biceps muscle! I’ll have to get the wife to get a picture of it. Although it is very weak, it looks good! 🙂

As I had to work yesterday, I decided to postpone the run. Also, because there is still some pain in my left shin and at times, my left ankle. I am going to change the run/walk settings to 3 minutes running and one minute walking for a three-mile run tomorrow. I want to see how close I can get to breaking the 30 minute barrier. Saturday will be a 15 mile run and by the looks of the weather report, a cold run!

Our next confirmed race is the Disney Wine and Dine 1/2 Marathon in November. It looks like there will be one race in between, the Run Around the Lake, in Clermont…a block away from Tealas Parents house! We will have to see how their schedule is before we commit to that race. We are also waiting to hear back as there doesn’t appear to be any medals! We run for the hardware!!!! We are also hoping that they have chip timing so this race will qualify for the Wine and Dine race. Although we both have improved our times at the A1A race, we would like to trim at least another 15 minutes off of our next race time. The goal for me is to run the next race in 2:30 and then, hopefully, the Wine and Dine at 2:15. If I can trim another 15 minutes off by January and run the Disney Marathon in around 4:00-4:15, I will be very happy!

There have been some that have questioned my sincerity as it pertains to the ultimate goal, competing in the 2015 Boston Marathon. I assure you, that is the goal and I have every intention of attaining it. I am quite confident that barring serious injury, I will be getting one of those cheesy Boston Marathon finisher medals, the A1A medal is quite a bit nicer, but, Boston to me, is the ultimate achievement!

Tomorrows post will have the food diary for today and the early morning run results.

Stay tuned…………………………….

February 27, 2013 - Posted by | Health and Fitness, Home, Running | , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Boston was my goal for a very, very long time, and marathon by marathon, I slowly chipped away at my time (I think my first two marathons were between 5:20 and 5:50, and I needed a 3:45 to qualify!). Glad you’re healing well from your surgery!

    Comment by Carina | March 3, 2013 | Reply

    • I plan on getting my half marathon time down to 2 hours this year, while using the marathon training programs. The half’s I am running now are serving as training runs, although, they are still fun!

      Comment by magnuminsp | March 3, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

