Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Back to the gym…………………

Today is the first day back at the gym in an attempt to regain my strength that was lost as a result of my shoulder surgery. As per the advise of my doctor and physical therapist, I took it light.

EXERCISES Calories Minutes Sets Reps Weight
Cardiovascular
Stair-treadmill ergometer, general 316 20
Strength Training
Bench (Chest) Press, Machine 3 15 45
Seated Biceps Curl 3 15 5
Triceps Extension 3 15 5
Seated Biceps Curl 3 15 40
Standard Bench Press 3 15 45
Triceps Extension 3 15 15
TOTALS: 316 20 18 90 155

The return to the treadmill was not a very positive experience! The pain in my left knee has spread to my entire leg! My right calf cramped up in about 2 minutes! I had to remember how to run on a treadmill! After five minutes, everything settled down and I jogged easily at a blistering 4.5 mph pace. There was a big difference when running on the treadmill to running in the real world. Going from the real world to the treadmill, in my opinion, is an even bigger difference!

After finishing the treadmill workout, I moved on to the weight portion of the workout. As this is the first day back and I have not been cleared to start using my biceps, I had no choice but to take it easy.

The bench-press was done with just the bar. Onlookers were wondering why, as many there have seen me use much more weight, but, I am taking it as easy as I can. During the third set, I felt a little discomfort in my shoulder, but finished. On to the fly machine. Again using light weight, I got through three sets of 15 repetitions and it was fairly pain-free.

Time to work on the arms. This is where I have to be extremely careful. My doctor reminded me on my last visit, about a patient who after 2 months thought he was healed and promptly tore the screw that holds the biceps tendon in place, completely out of his arm.  A subtle reminder to me!

I did biceps curls with my right arm using five pounds. Three sets of 15 repetitions. My left arm I used a comfortable weight, 40 pounds, and again, 3 sets of 15 repetitions.

On to the triceps. I used 5 pounds for the behind your back arm extensions, 3 sets of 15, for my right arm. 3 sets of 15 reps at 15 pounds for my left arm.

It is quite bizarre having your non-dominant arm stronger than your dominant arm!

Overall, the workout did what it was supposed to and that is to re-acquaint my body with working out. I am a little sore in both shoulders, but, nothing major. My legs have returned to their normal selves, but I am worried about this newest sensation in the outside of my left knee.

Saturdays run was very good and my fastest to date. I looked back over my  records of other runs and there were a few that were faster, but, they were recorded using Cardio Trainer or Sports Tracker, which I know are not very accurate. Approximately four hours after the run, my left knee really began to hurt. The pain extended all the way down to my heel. It hurt when I walked on it and then, when I lifted up my foot after taking a step, it hurt as well. While walking around the RenFest yesterday, nothing hurt. I was wearing my work boots which have thick pads in them as well as heel lifts. I sincerely hope that the bone spurs in my heel are not beginning to fail!

I will have to see what happens after tomorrows run and if there is pain, I’ll have to pay a visit to my foot doctor to see what is going on.

The diet diary will be posted later on this evening and I am on a 1,700 calorie diet which will be low carb in nature. It won’t be like the Atkins diet, but similar. There will be few items that may be termed gluten-free as per labeling, pasta, bread, etc…., that will be avoided altogether, as it appears as though even those items are irritating the gluten issue.

I have to work today and tomorrow, which means that the run tomorrow will be performed in the afternoon. For those that do no live in South Florida, what this means is that Summer is here! The temperature will be 85 degrees with for us, a mild humidity reading of 65%. I suspect Tuesdays run will suck more than usual!! We will see………………

February 25, 2013 - Posted by | Health and Fitness, Running | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

