Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Less than 24 hours to go!

Yesterday, was the day I had to go to get the race pack and our bibs for the race. I drove down to the convention center, which is located inside of Port Everglades. Fortunately, I didn’t have to go through a body cavity search, just one question, “Do you have any weapons?” After parking I walked up to the second floor and into the Expo.

Being used to Disney races, I was expecting Stitch to greet me and lead me down the path where I needed to go. This was not the case. There was no information station! Fortunately, as I was waiting for the  Expo people to let us in, and they wouldn’t let anyone in until precisely 3:00, I was near someone who had obviously done this race before and I decided, it would be a good idea to cozy up to her. We started talking and then, the Expo opened. I followed her to two tables, which had a bunch of papers scattered on them. I took a picture, but it came out blurry. On these pieces of paper, were your names and most importantly, your bib number. Mine was 2738 and the wifes was 2739. I was told to memorize these numbers!

2013-02-15_17-55-44_860

Next, I followed this lady to the very back of the room where, there were a bunch of boxes. On these boxes were numbers, in my case, 2600-2800. Once again, no one to tell you what to do, but, I figured that our bibs should be in this box. Apparently, these boxes are for Expo personal only as when I reached in to search for our bibs, I got yelled at! The guy found our bibs, I showed him my ID and the Wifes ID, and that part was done. Next, time to shuffle off to the left to get the shirt and goody bags. At this time, I remembered to get our VIP parking pass so we park at the finish and don’t have to carry any clothes bags or anything else as when we finish, the Durango will be well stocked with food and refreshments. 😉

When I got in that line, I find out that A, it was cash only, and B, this was also the “information line”! I get to the lady and she says, 20 bucks. I give her the cash, get the VIP sign, and now, I am free to pick up a few items. One,was the 13.1 magnet for the wife. I’ll have to get a picture of it later, as it has already been affixed to the back of the Rouge! Next stop, the sport beans. My main man, this appears to be the same guy from Disney, was there with the five for five dollars beans! Five bags for me, five for the wife, and all of my tasks are finished!

2013-02-15_15-31-08_66

2013-02-15_15-31-38_183

This whole process took about a half an hour. Not bad, but then again, I was one of the first 75 people there. I suspect things will get a little bit more crowded as the event draws near!

Now that I finished my tasks, I thought it would be a good idea to drive the race route. This particular route is very familiar to me. When I was a kid, we used to ride our bikes from our home in SW Fort Lauderdale  down Davie Boulevard east, up to 17th Street Causeway, all the way down A1A and then, depending on our moods, either turn down Sunrise Boulevard or if we were really feeling energetic, go up to Commercial Boulevard and make the turn west there. Little did I know that this is about a 25 mile jaunt! Ah to be young…………………..

Although it was raining, here are a few pics:

2013-02-15_15-42-01_142Pier 66

2013-02-15_15-43-55_429This was a hard picture to get as the electric sign says, Expect Delays Feb 17, A1A Marathon. I got lucky and timed the shot to get the A1A Marathon part!

2013-02-15_15-49-23_452The beach

2013-02-15_15-51-34_105Sunrise Boulevard where we make the turn to………………………………..

2013-02-15_15-52-17_748Birch State Park!

I spent many a day there……..

One sad note, there used to be a Jet Ski Rental place on the other side of a little bridge next to Birch State Park. Friends and I used to ride the jet skis and rent boats from there quite a bit. Unfortunately, as with many things from my childhood, it is gone. 😦

2013-02-15_15-54-42_996

The weather is supposed to be in the mid 40s at the start of the race! to prepare for this, I have been taking warm baths and this has helped my right knee. It is about 70% recovered from the torn meniscus, so I am racing! Everything else is all set.

There was one incident last night when I got home. Every night, we open the rear sliding glass doors to the patio so the cats can roam on the patio. Around dinnertime, I felt a “disturbance in the force” and decided to take a peek outside. Normally, it is quite easy to find the three cats as they usually are in one of three locations, The lounge chairs, the patio chairs, or sprawled out on the patio deck. Shadow and Sophia were inside as it was raining but Samantha, was not accounted for. I kept looking and eventually, I found her…on the other side of the screen enclosure! She apparently was after something that dared wander into the “zone” and broke through one screen! This morning I went to fix the screen and found two other screens torn. After replacing the three screens, I was sweating like I had just run a marathon! The temperature was allegedly 65 degrees! I think the weatherman is on dope!  Just in case it actually is in the 40-50 degree range tomorrow morning, I will start out with my trusty long underwear/running tights. I’ll try to get a picture of that :)!

The good news is that the weight is right where I expected it to be. 226 pounds! Ready to race.

The plan tonight is to take Marshall to his Aunts house then the wife and I will have dinner at Carrabbas. I’ll be having my traditional race meal, the “Johnny with mashed potatoes” and a few Blackberry Sangria’s! Then it is off to bed, hopefully asleep by 9:00. I went to bed early last night and woke up at three o’clock this morning. Hopefully I can duplicate that tomorrow!

After the race tomorrow, we plan on picking up Marshall and then going to the Renaissance Festival for “Pirates Weekend”!

I will try to post an update after the race, even if it is just the time and a few pictures.

February 16, 2013 - Posted by | Health and Fitness, Running | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. It appears as though the weather has taken a turn for the worse:
    ..WIND CHILL ADVISORY IN EFFECT FROM 2 AM TO 9 AM EST SUNDAY…

    THE NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE IN MIAMI HAS ISSUED A WIND CHILL ADVISORY…WHICH IS IN EFFECT FROM 2 AM TO 9 AM EST SUNDAY.

    * WIND CHILL VALUES…A NORTHWEST WIND BETWEEN 10 AND 15 MPH ALONG WITH TEMPERATURES AROUND 40 TO THE MID 40S WILL RESULT IN WIND CHILL READINGS OF 28 TO 34 DEGREES FOR SEVERAL HOURS.
    PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS…

    A WIND CHILL ADVISORY MEANS THAT VERY COLD AIR AND WIND WILL COMBINE TO GENERATE LOW WIND CHILLS. THIS CAN LEAD TO HYPOTHERMIA IF PRECAUTIONS ARE NOT TAKEN. IF YOU MUST VENTURE OUTDOORS… MAKE SURE YOU WEAR A HAT AND GLOVES.

    Comment by magnuminsp | February 16, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

