Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Physical Therapy and back to training!

It has been a little while since the last entry, but, with the holidays, the “World Tour” and my shoulder surgery, there hasn’t been much to report.

Yesterday, was my first session with physical therapy. It was just range of motion and slight resistance. The good news, I survived unscathed!

Yesterday was also the second run since surgery. It would appear that the surgery has taken its toll on me in other ways. Mainly, endurance. I tried to run using the new run/walk setting of 2 minutes running, 1 minute walking and just couldn’t do it. I actually was out of breath after only one mile! I managed to run 3.25 miles at a 13 minute mile pace, which is where I was prior to the surgery, but, I don’t think I could have made five miles.

I have changed the settings on the run/walk interval back to 45 seconds of running and 1 minute of walking. At least for this week. I am going to run later on today, probably 3 miles or so, then Saturday, I will try to run 5-8 miles, depending on how I feel.

The best news of all is that the Endomondo sports tracker finally fixed the voice alerts so now, I only have to run that program, run/walk interval, and Winamp. Also, I seem to have fully healed from the broken foot in August and needed no medication of any kind, including Advil, to run!

Next week will begin the real training for the A1A half Marathon. I have to dig up the Jeff Galloway training manual I used for the Wine and Dine race and see where I am at. Hopefully my endurance will return after a couple of runs.

January 10, 2013 - Posted by | Health and Fitness, Running | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

