Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Another day, another injury! :(

For whatever reason, now that the wife and son have been away for two days, I am sleeping in later each day! I woke up at 7:30 today! I was supposed to have finished my run by that point!

I got up, read e mails, had a cup of coffee, did a few inspection reports for later use, and then, it was time to run. I figured today would be a great day as I was pretty sure that I had the apps figured out, the ear buds figured out, and was past all injuries. Needless to say, none of the above was true!

We can start out with the phone apps. Endomondo uses your existing music player, in my case, Android, to play music during the run. It also partially mutes the player when it tells you high intensity or low intensity for running intervals. Unfortunately, when you get a phone call, it shuts the player off all together! This wouldn’t be a problem for most, but at 51, my short-range vision is shot and I can’t see the screen, due to poor vision and sunlight, so, I have to wait for shade, then, hopefully, get to the Endomondo screen without shutting off that program! This happened near the end of the run, so it wasn’t much of a problem, but I am going to have to figure out a way to prevent that. Meanwhile, I was also running Cardio trainer so I could get my pace updates during the run. After 6 minutes of running, I realized that Cardio Trainer was not running! Again, I had to wait for shade and then start that app.

The good news is that I can hear the running stats so at least for the last 2.5 miles, I knew my pace. Unfortunately, the ear buds, more specifically the right one, didn’t stay in my ear very well after I started sweating. During Saturdays run, the cord for the ear buds kept pulling on the right side and I had to keep pulling it up through my shirt to prevent the right side bud from coming out. I was going to devise a clip or something to hold the wire in place, but, my running shirt has a little loop in the back. I placed the cord through that and double wrapped it hoping it would keep everything in place. For the first two miles, this worked. Then, the right side ear bud kept falling out. That combined with the music cutting out translated to a slower that average pace. Then of course, there is the latest injury!

I am pretty sure it was Sunday night, when I woke up with this stabbing pain in my left foot right where my pinky toe meets my foot. I thought for a minute that the wife had stabbed me in my sleep, but she was already in Orlando. The next possible suspect would be Samantha. She was in Marshall’s room on his changing table where she normally is, guarding our young son, even though he wasn’t there!

Yesterday, everything seemed fine so I just thought it might be some weird spasm. Apparently, not! Somewhere after the 2-mile mark, the stabbing pain reared its ugly head!  Now that all of the issues with my right leg, calf, shin splints, etc…, have been resolved, a new pain is present! I walked right through one of the run intervals and then finished the run, running all the way home, about a 1/4 of a mile. I came home and after a half hour of ice, the pain was gone. Hopefully, this is nothing to worry about or I may have to go to the doctor to see what is going on now!

One other note, I had recently told the wife that I was very happy that my left knee has been holding up and was virtually pain-free. The curse lives! After about one mile, there was a little pain under my left knee-cap and then, my knee buckled, twice! Fortunately, my cat-like reflexes saved me and prevented me from crashing to the pavement and sustaining serious injury as well as embarrassment.

The numbers are posted below.

Endomondo (full run including warm up):            Distance: 2.81 miles. Time: 38:27. Pace 13:42.

Cardio Trainer (run after warm up, more or less): Distance: 2.41 miles. Time: 31:14. Pace: 12:56.

Now I am off to procure the eight chickens I will be smoking for a friends July 4th party and tomorrow, I will be cooking most of the day as well as attempting to enjoy myself!

Everyone have a Safe and Happy 4th of July!

July 3, 2012 - Posted by | Health and Fitness, Running | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Try freezing a water bottle and using it as a roller on the bottom of your foot (it works well on the calf and legs too). See, http://fitfor365.wordpress.com/2012/06/03/home-physiotherapy-2/

    Comment by John | July 3, 2012 | Reply

    • There is some “foam” thing that the wife is getting when she returns from Orlando. That is supposed to help.

      Comment by magnuminsp | July 3, 2012 | Reply

      • Yes foam rolling does the same thing. When you combine it with ice it reduces swelling.

        Comment by John | July 3, 2012


Leave a Reply

