Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Wednesday…Going to Disney….MAYBE!!! :(

It is official! I will be running in the Tower of Terror race and the Wine and Dine race at Disney world! The only question is what corral I’ll be in for the Wine and Dine race. Hopefully, the 10 mile race will be at an 11 minute pace or less. I am hoping for 10 minutes or less. ūüôā

And now, yesterdays food diary:

May 8, 2012

FOODS Calories Carbs Fat Protein Cholest Sodium Sugars Fiber
Breakfast
Peter Pan – Crunchy Peanut Butter, 2 tbsp 190 6g 16g 8g 0mg 110mg 3g 3g
Smucker’s – Concord Grape Jam, 1 tbsp 50 13g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 12g 0g
Van’s All Natural Wheat Gluten Free – Correct – Waffles, 2 Waffles 230 39g 7g 2g 0mg 400mg 4g 1g
Lunch
Usda Choice Beef Rib Eye Steak – Beef Rib Eye Steak, 4 oz cooked 310 0g 25g 22g 85mg 55mg 0g 0g
Dinner
Pork Chops – Thick Cut Grilled Pork Chops, 8 oz 220 0g 16g 19g 65mg 200mg 0g 0g
Birds Eye – Steamfresh Fresh Frozen Vegetables Asparagus, Gold & White Corn, Baby Carrots, 0.3335 cup 35 7g 0g 1g 0mg 8mg 2g 1g
Dai Day – Duck Sauce, 2 tbsp. 80 19g 0g 0g 0mg 260mg 11g 0g
Snacks
Nature’s Best Perfect Zero Carb Isopure Creamy Vanilla – Creamy Vanilla, 2 scoop 210 0g 1g 50g 5mg 320mg 0g 0g
Smuckers – Grape Jelly, 1 tbs (20g) 50 13g 0g 0g 0mg 5mg 12g 0g
Udi’s Gluten Free – White Sandwich Bread, 2 slices 150 25g 5g 4g 0mg 290mg 1g 1g
Peter Pan – Crunchy Peanut Butter, 2 tbsp (32g) 200 6g 16g 8g 0mg 110mg 3g 3g
Liquids
Home – Water, 64 oz 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
Lipton – Decaffeinated Tea Bags, 3 Tea Bag 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
Robert Mondavi Woodbridge – Sauvignon Blanc, 5 ounces 119 3g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
Supplements
Bsn – N.O. Xplode, 1 scoop 25 6g 0g 0g 0mg 235mg 0g 0g
Centrum – Centrum Silver Supplement, 1 Tablet 5 2g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 1g 0g
Patenthealth,Llc – Trigosamine, 3 capsules 15 2g 0g 1g 0mg 100mg 0g 0g
TOTAL: 1,889 141g 86g 115g 155mg 2,093mg 49g 9g

The food diary shows I got a little carried away with the PB & J, but it is my weakness!

On to the workout…or…what there was of it!

This morning, I thought that whatever the latest disease I have contracted from my son, his daycare, or the doctor’s office, had cleared my system enough to attempt to get in a workout. As is often the case, this was not true. It seems, for whatever reason, as I have gotten older, these little colds that I never used to get, are beginning to take longer to go away and, as if that¬†weren’t¬†bad enough, I seem to get much weaker when they do strike.

Today was also the day when I decided to try out my newly acquired Dr. Scholls inserts. I did my normal stretching and set the machine up for 3 miles at a 6 mph pace. My plan was to run for 3 minutes, then walk for one minute. When I put my shoes on with the inserts in place, I noticed that although my feet were much more comfortable, it seems as though I am being pitched forward. Where do I remember that feeling from? Last year

I figured it was just the inserts “finding¬†their¬†spot” so I decided to run with them and see what happened. What happened you may ask? It would appear as though the inserts, although they did quiet down my running and initially¬†relieved¬†the pain of my left heel, also have placed a tremendous amount of strain on my right calf, sound familiar, and my right shin and knee. After one mile, I had to stop. I paused the machine and took the inserts out. Well, guess what..the machine sensed that I was not present and shut off!!

I had to reset everything and tried to run. I made it one minute and my right knee was really starting to hurt. Not an ache, but a pain like something has gone wrong.

I sit here now with ice on my knee and am debating on whether or not to have a¬†Tequila¬†shot or six or a couple of glasses of wine and some¬†Advil! I don’t think I hurt my knee bad enough to stop training, but I think I will take tomorrow off and see how it feels on Friday. After all, I just plunked down over $300.00 in race fees not to mention travel and lodging, so, I am going, one way or the other to Disney! Maybe I¬†should¬†have checked off the “wheelchair” box!

Tomorrow will be an off day and more of that four-letter word, WORK!

Friday will be a wait and see situation.

Everyone else, have a great day!

May 9, 2012 - Posted by | Health and Fitness, Home, Running, Weight Training | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

