Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Cinco de Mile!

First, last nights food diary:

May 4, 2012

FOODS Calories Carbs Fat Protein Cholest Sodium Sugars Fiber
Breakfast
Nature’s Best Perfect Zero Carb Isopure Creamy Vanilla – Creamy Vanilla, 2 scoop 210 0g 1g 50g 5mg 320mg 0g 0g
Lunch
Claussen Pickles – Kosher Dill Halves, 1/2 pickle half 5 1g 0g 0g 0mg 270mg 0g 0g
Homemade – Rib Eye Steak Grilled/Broiled, 3 oz (85g) 174 0g 8g 25g 77mg 51mg 0g 0g
Dinner
chicken wings – chicken wings, 8 pieces 648 0g 43g 60g 184mg 904mg 0g 0g
Crystal – Hot Sauce, 0.5 container (35 tsp ea.) 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 2,363mg 0g 0g
publix unsalted butter – unsalted butter, 1 tablespoon 100 0g 11g 0g 30mg 0mg 0g 0g
Liquids
Home – Water, 64 oz 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
Redbridge Gluten Free Beer – Gluten Free Beer, 24 oz 254 25g 0g 2g 0mg 18mg 2g 0g
Supplements
Bsn – N.O. Xplode, 1 scoop 25 6g 0g 0g 0mg 235mg 0g 0g
Centrum – Centrum Silver Supplement, 1 Tablet 5 2g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 1g 0g
Nature Made – Iron, 0.25 tablet 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
Patenthealth,Llc – Trigosamine, 3 capsules 15 2g 0g 1g 0mg 100mg 0g 0g
TOTAL: 1,436 36g 63g 138g 296mg 4,261mg 3g 0g

I am simulating the night before a race. Chicken wings for dinner! Usually, that is all I can safely eat as most other food items will contain gluten or, have too many carbs. I might be a little light on the beer though! 🙂

I awoke at 6:00 am and was still sore from crawling attics all week. My left ankle is bothering me the worst. I am hoping to get through the year before something has to be done with it. I want to avoid surgery, but, I don’t see any way around it. There is a bone spur present and it may be increasing in size or causing inflammation. I am hoping the Dr. Scholls inserts help!

I decided to try the inserts next Monday as I didn’t want to stop if they didn’t work out. So much for the best laid plans!

I got to the gym, did my normal stretching and then, set the machine for 5 miles at a 5 mph pace. I started to run, and the two days off seemed to have helped. During Wednesdays run, my legs felt “heavy”. Today, they felt great and getting through the first mile was easy! Then, the power went out…literally! The gym lost power!! Three minutes later, the machine had re-booted and was back on pace. I continued to run using this method: run 5 minutes at 5 mph. Rest for 30 seconds, resume running for 5 minutes, rest for 30 seconds. This pace was continued until the last mile. I upped the pace to 5.5 mph and ran until there was two tenths of a mile to go, then, cranked the machine up to 8 mph and sprinted the last tenth of a mile.

Way back in my youngest days, I was always taught, it isn’t how you start, it is how you finish. I have always finished strong! I sprinted for the last tenth of a mile with no problems, sort of! My right shoe made contact with the buckle on my knee brace on my left leg and unsnapped the whole thing! Fortunately, I just kept running and spread my legs a little to make sure I didn’t crash!

Below are the numbers for the run:

Workout
Elapsed time 58.58
Average heart rate
Maximum heart rate
Average speed (mph) 5.1
Maximum Speed (mph) 8
Average pace (miles) 11.44
Distance (miles) 5
Calories 938

And, for the week:

Weekly Totals
Elapsed time 125.32
Average heart rate
Maximum heart rate
Average speed (mph)
Maximum Speed (mph)
Average pace (miles) 10.59   
Distance (miles) 11.85
Calories 2168

Good grief…I have become a runner! 🙂

Almost 12 miles this week! 🙂

And now, the aftermath! After the run, I went to Penn Dutch as we are out of meat in the house. While there, waiting in line, I began to feel drained as I hadn’t eaten anything. Also, I was completely out of fuel. I came home,made a big Isopure shake and iced down my knees and hips. I’ll take a hot bath later and then a liberal dosage of IcyHot and I should be ready for Sunday morning golf.

The weight was at 227 pounds which is a total of 13 pounds lost. Now that I am below the 230 pound mark and summer is approaching, getting down to 210 pounds or lower will be no problem.

The rest of today, since it is the 5th of May, will be spent poolside with some chicken nachos and margaritas! This probably will not help in the weight loss numbers, but, now that I know I can run 5 miles, the daily average will be bumped up to 3 miles per run, and I may run a mile or so at night.

The food diary will be posted tomorrow along with hopefully, an improved score for Sunday morning golf!

Everyone have a great weekend!!

May 5, 2012 - Posted by | Health and Fitness, Home, Running, Weight Training | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Yay!! This looks good.

    Comment by shianwrites | May 5, 2012 | Reply

    • That is actually a version from last year. I’ll snap a picture of this years version all done!

      Comment by magnuminsp | May 5, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

