Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

It’s called “Hump Day” for a reason!!!

Let’s start with the food diary from yesterday……

May 1, 2012

FOODS Calories Carbs Fat Protein Cholest Sodium Sugars Fiber
Lunch
Jo’s Homemade – Beef Taco Salad, 2/3 plate 425 10g 29g 25g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
Dinner
Success – Boil In Bag White Rice, 0.25 cup cooked (about 1/2 bag,cooked) 48 11g 0g 1g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
Birds Eye – Steamfresh Fresh Frozen Vegetables Asparagus, Gold & White Corn, Baby Carrots, 0.3335 cup 35 7g 0g 1g 0mg 8mg 2g 1g
Penn Dutch Chicken Breast – Chicken Breast Fried In Peanut Oil, 0.25 breast 21 0g 1g 4g 11mg 10mg 0g 0g
Dai Day – Duck Sauce, 2 tbsp. 80 19g 0g 0g 0mg 260mg 11g 0g
Tsunami – Pickled Ginger, 4 pieces 9 2g 0g 0g 0mg 160mg 1g 0g
Snacks
Peter Pan – Crunchy Peanut Butter, 2 tbsp (32g) 200 6g 16g 8g 0mg 110mg 3g 3g
Smucker’s – Strawberry Jelly, 1 Tbsp 50 13g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 12g 0g
Udi’s Gluten Free – White Sandwich Bread, 2 slices 150 25g 5g 4g 0mg 290mg 1g 1g
Liquids
Diet Sierra Mist – Diet Soda, 12 oz 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 35mg 0g 0g
Home – Water, 64 oz 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
Supplements
Bsn – N.O. Xplode, 1 scoop 25 6g 0g 0g 0mg 235mg 0g 0g
Centrum – Centrum Silver Supplement, 1 Tablet 5 2g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 1g 0g
Nature Made – Iron, 0.25 tablet 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
Patenthealth,Llc – Trigosamine, 3 capsules 15 2g 0g 1g 0mg 100mg 0g 0g
TOTAL: 1,063 103g 51g 44g 11mg 1,208mg 31g 5g

I thought something was amiss and it was! I forgot to eat breakfast! That may explain the light-handedness I felt this morning! Speaking of which, the treadmill workout:

Totals
Elapsed time 32
Average heart rate 0
Maximum heart rate 0
Average speed (mph) 5
Maximum Speed (mph) 5
Average pace (miles) 12
Distance (miles) 2.57
Calories 455

Today was an easy run, which unfortunately was interrupted by a vicious bowel movement, the 5th of the morning! At the half mile mark, there was a rumbling in my stomach and a quick trip to the restroom, and  back to finish the other 2 miles. The effect of yesterdays leg workout was felt during this run as well. By the end of it, I was exhausted! Tomorrow will be an off day!!

You will also notice the smaller condensed version of the data sheet. I made a new excel worksheet where I can track the entire week and then the weekly totals all on one sheet.

Now, on to the back and shoulders workout:

EXERCISES Calories Minutes Sets Reps Weight
Cardiovascular
Stair-treadmill ergometer, general 455 32
Strength Training
The 21’s 3 7 20
Lat pull down for upper back 3 10 150
Seated Row, Floor, Machine 3 10 210
TOTALS: 455 32 9 27 380

This was sort of a light workout as I only did three exercises. That is because, I was completely out of fuel. I felt the running on empty syndrome after the first set of lat pull downs. That brings us back to last nights dinner.

Last nights dinner was chicken stir-fry, pictured below.

This is one of my wifes favorite dishes and it is very simple to make. I’ll make it with pork or shrimp, this time it was chicken.

Unfortunately, this combined with the late night snack, a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, although not harmful calorie-wise, appears to have been harmful from a fiber standpoint. I would submit that some of the numbers for the meals yesterday are off, by a substantial amount. I’ll have to do a little research to see what the actual numbers are for the bread and taco salad, but the fiber combined with the ruffage of the salad and the higher than normal sugar intake, has had an adverse effect on my digestive system. Five trips to the bathroom before noon isn’t normal! Even with all of the elimination, I still managed to gain three pounds in one day! I am not overly concerned with that as I have to work today and I am sure I will be back to 229 pounds, or less at the end of the day. I may try a quick jog later for maybe a mile to get acclimated to running in the real world.

Last year this time, actually a few months earlier as I was injured by this time, I was running roughly a 6 minute mile pace… which is probably what led to my injury. Too much too fast! Now I feel confident that my injuries are behind me, there is a little swelling in my knees, but, I am going to the Dr. Scholls booth to get some insoles to see if that helps cushion the blow. I’ll probably try those in my Asics shoes first, then in the Sauconys. And by the way, although these shoes are perfect, would it be too much to ask of a major shoe manufacturing company, to make more than one model of shoe in 4E?

Tha tis all for today unless I do a light run tonight, then I can post those results, provided my cardio trainer app works as advertised!

May 2, 2012 - Posted by | Health and Fitness, Running, Weight Training | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Your recipe looks really good, might have to try this one on Saturday. Thank you!!!

    Comment by CultFit | May 2, 2012 | Reply

    • It is chicken, rice, and the steam-fresh Asian medley vegetable bag, with gluten free soy sauce, wasabi, pickled ginger, and duck sauce. Salt and pepper to taste. To do it properly, you should use a big wok type pan, but with the non-stick, the rice doesn’t stick to the pan and burn.

      Comment by magnuminsp | May 2, 2012 | Reply

  2. I agree with Cultfit. That chicken looks great!

    Also, the five eliminations thing sounds very annoying. Ha ha. I hope you feel better throughout the day, man.

    Comment by tlbflowllc | May 2, 2012 | Reply

    • I’ll post the recipe later. It is very easy! And, for those keeping score…7! The good news is I think whatever it was has passed and I got my Dr. Scholls inserts. Maybe a lap around the block tonight!

      Comment by magnuminsp | May 2, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

