Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Wednesday….on “IR”! :(

I woke up this morning with the full intention  of running two miles and a nice chest and arm workout. Unfortunately, my body had other ideas!

For those who do not know what I do for a living, it is home inspections. I get called by people looking to purchase a home. I go and inspect it and then, ruin their dreams! I don’t mean to, it just seems to happen! It isn’t my fault that there are a plethora of unlicensed contractors doing a bunch of work on foreclosed homes, then trying to flip them. “Buyer Beware” was never more crucial than it is now.

Part of my job is inspecting attics. Some of the attics in homes here in South Florida are more conducive than others as it pertains to the inspection process. At times, I find myself wrapped around trusses, buried in insulation, and in one instance, falling through a ceiling. On occasion, I am sore the next day after a particularly hard inspection. This morning, I was very sore as I performed four inspections in two days! One of which had an attic that I had to go to every end to inspect for some termite damage and I spent over an hour in that attic.

Meandering my way through attics isn’t as easy as it used to be. It takes a toll on my back and legs. Especially, my surgically rebuilt left knee. I woke up this morning and could barely walk. I could hardly bend my knee at all and feared I had either done something seriously wrong at an inspection, or, the weight of our large cat Sophia, may have injured me in my sleep!

After a morning spent fielding phone calls for more work, icing down my knee, liberal applications of Advil and icy-hot, my knee is better, but still only 50% mobility. Running, as I can barely walk, was out of the question. We will see what tomorrow brings from the workout stance.

The good news is that I am steady at 230 pounds. I have another inspection to do tomorrow and probably, a four or five-hour inspection on Friday, so, it looks like this weeks training is off. What did I say last week? I was ahead of schedule? Guess not! The other good news is that the rest of the family is healthy enough to go back to work and school.

Here is last nights food diary:

April 17, 2012

FOODS Calories Carbs Fat Protein Cholest Sodium Sugars Fiber
Breakfast
Nature’s Best Perfect Zero Carb Isopure Creamy Vanilla – Creamy Vanilla, 2 scoop 210 0g 1g 50g 5mg 320mg 0g 0g
Lunch
Nature’s Best Perfect Zero Carb Isopure Strawberry cream, 2 scoop 210 0g 1g 50g 5mg 320mg 0g 0g
Dinner
Birds Eye – Steamfresh Fresh Frozen Vegetables Asparagus, Gold & White Corn, Baby Carrots, 0.3335 cup 35 7g 0g 1g 0mg 8mg 2g 1g
Pork Chops – Thick Cut Grilled Pork Chops, 8 oz 220 0g 16g 19g 65mg 200mg 0g 0g
Snacks
Kraft – Sharp Cheddar Cheese Block, 3 oz 360 0g 30g 18g 90mg 540mg 0g 0g
Claussen Pickles – Kosher Dill Halves, 11 pickle half 110 22g 0g 0g 0mg 5,940mg 0g 0g
Liquids
Coca-Cola – Diet Coke (12 oz.), 1 can 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 40mg 0g 0g
Lipton – Decaffeinated Tea Bags, 3 Tea Bag 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
Supplements
Centrum – Centrum Silver Supplement, 1 Tablet 5 2g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 1g 0g
Bsn – N.O. Xplode, 1 scoop 25 6g 0g 0g 0mg 235mg 0g 0g
TOTAL: 1,175 37g 48g 138g 165mg 7,603mg 3g 1g

You will notice that some extra carbohydrates have been added in via fruits and vegetables. This is all part of the plan to lose weight and attain a balanced diet.

After tomorrows inspection, I may try to go to the gym or, if I feel better, go early in the morning.

Stay tuned for that!

Tonight’s dinner:

 

April 18, 2012 - Posted by | Health and Fitness, Running, Weight Training | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Man, that dinner looks good! Also, I love the decision to put in some extra fruits and veggies.

    It’s pretty cool that you’re a home inspector. I have an inspector to thank for keeping me from buying a house with a faulty roof back in Missouri prior to moving to Florida. I probably would have had to spend over $5,000 repairing that thing within the first two years if it hadn’t been for a good inspector.

    Comment by tlbflowllc | April 18, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

