Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Thursday..real work today!

First, yesterdays food diary:

April 11, 2012

FOODS Calories Carbs Fat Protein Cholest Sodium Sugars Fiber
Breakfast
Eggs – Hard-boiled (whole egg), 1 large 78 1g 5g 6g 212mg 62mg 1g 0g
Dinner
Ribeye Steak 9 oz – Ribeye Steak 9 oz – Home Grilled (Charcoal), 9 oz 585 0g 29g 67g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
Birds Eye – Steamfresh Fresh Frozen Vegetables Asparagus, Gold & White Corn, Baby Carrots, 0.3335 cup 35 7g 0g 1g 0mg 8mg 2g 1g
Snacks
Kraft – Sharp Cheddar Cheese Block, 3 oz 360 0g 30g 18g 90mg 540mg 0g 0g
Eggs – Hard-boiled (whole egg), 1 large 78 1g 5g 6g 212mg 62mg 1g 0g
Sabra – Roasted Garlic Hummus, 28 g 70 4g 6g 2g 0mg 120mg 1g 1g
Liquids
Lipton – Decaffeinated Tea Bags, 3 Tea Bag 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
Supplements
Centrum – Centrum Silver Supplement, 1 Tablet 5 2g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 1g 0g
Patenthealth,Llc – Trigosamine, 3 capsules 15 2g 0g 1g 0mg 100mg 0g 0g
Bsn – N.O. Xplode, 2 scoop 50 12g 0g 0g 0mg 470mg 0g 0g
Nature’s Best Perfect Zero Carb Isopure Creamy Vanilla – Creamy Vanilla, 2 scoop 210 0g 1g 50g 5mg 320mg 0g 0g
TOTAL: 1,486 29g 76g 151g 519mg 1,682mg 6g 2g

As Spring is right around the corner, time for the annual ritual known as Spring cleaning! Today will be spent pressure cleaning the exterior and rear patio of our home. Also, since we use well water for the sprinkler system, removing all of the stains will also be done. I’ll have to be careful as now that the main feed line has been fixed for the water supply to the home, I may blast what granules are left on our shingles off the roof!

While we are talking about roofs, I will probably start shortening some of these posts and concentrate on my other blog, my work related blog. There are many issues that need to be addressed in the home inspection world as well as inspections in general. The general population is heading for a real nightmare, as far as homeowners insurance goes.

After yesterdays run, I had some soreness in my left knee. A little ice and today, all is fine.

On another blog, the discussion of stretching came up and one poster stated that there is no study supporting stretching prior to exercising as a method to reduce injuries. I have looked and there are studies that go both ways. One says it doesn’t help, others say it does. It depends on what you are doing. If you are going for a walk around the block, I don’t think the average individual needs to spend 15 minutes stretching for a five-minute walk. On the other hand,if you are planning an intense workout, I would advise stretching…as much as you need to.

For those that have been following this blog, you will remember that this time last year, I was nursing a severely torn calf muscle. That injury was caused by me in a rush to get a run in and not stretching or warming up. Followed by doing calf raises the following week at the gym with something like 400 pounds of weight. Needless to say, although I am going to say it, I stretch before every exercise and when weight training, between every set. I have never injured myself working out with weights. There is an old adage, “If it isn’t broken, don’t try to fix it”! I’ll continue stretching and I would suggest to others, to do the same. 🙂

And now, on to the real work of the day!

April 12, 2012 - Posted by | Health and Fitness, Running, Weight Training | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I like stretching just to increase flexibility and MY comfort level. I generally only stretch when I remember, or at the end of a really big workout.

    Comment by L @ Trying Not to be Fat | April 12, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

