Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

5K Friday!!

Last nights entry was a slight clue and the title for the blog today, should give it away, but, as I have been pain-free for the last two weeks, I decided that today would be a little test.

One of this blogs followers, and by the way, I thank all of you that are following as it is nice to communicate with others who are doing the same things, and more, that I am, posed a question about training on the treadmill vs real life. I decided to see if training on a treadmill can be used effectively for actual running. For me, running on a path, park, or anywhere is much easier than a treadmill. A treadmill is boring and I tend to lose focus. I have nearly fallen off of several treadmills in my time! 🙂

Moving ahead to today.

As you can see, the usual “time” setting is left blank and instead, has been replaced by 3.2 in the “distance” tab. I think 3.1 miles is a 5K but, I can’t recall so I just went with 3.2 to be sure. Darn metric system!!! What you can’t see in the picture and what doesn’t show up on the readout, is the incline setting, which I accidentally left at 3% for the entire session!

I started off warming up at 3 mph and by the time 10 minutes had elapsed, I was up to 4 mph. I gradually increased the speed to 4.5 mph, 5, 5.5, and eventually, for the last .2 of a mile, 6mph.

After one mile, I got “goosies” as JLo says and really felt good. As I increased the pace, I started to feel even better. The last mile, however, I was beginning to have problems breathing. This was due to my shirt riding up to my throat! I’ll have to get one of them snazzy running outfits next time!

I finished the run, non-stop and in no pain. I rested and then had a pre-made shake and proceeded to a light workout.

As I sit here, there is slight pain in my left knee and both Quads. A warm bath should take care of that, then, off to the driving range to work a little bit on my golf game as I would like to break 90 this Sunday. As my partner Johnny says, you will do it, on one side or the other! 🙂

Below is the workout for today. Maybe Friday will be 5K Friday from now on! I will probably do this for a few more weeks, then, take it outdoors. Using one of my handy-dandy phone apps, I can map out a route on the bicycle, and then, just run it and pick the pace. I can’t wait for that!

Workout Summary
Workout type Manual Cool down
Equipment Treadmill Elapsed time 0
Date March 30, 2012 Average speed (mph) 0
Time Maximum Speed (mph) 0
User Data Distance (miles) 0
Age 51 Calories 0
Weight 233 Totals
Workout Elapsed time 42.5
Elapsed time 42.5 Average heart rate 137
Average heart rate 137 Maximum heart rate 149
Maximum heart rate 149 Average speed (mph) 4.5
Average speed (mph) 4.5 Maximum Speed (mph) 6
Maximum Speed (mph) 6 Average pace (miles) 13.22
Average pace (miles) 13.22 Distance (miles) 3.2
Distance (miles) 3.2 Calories 662
Calories 662

March 30, 2012

EXERCISES Calories Minutes Sets Reps Weight
Cardiovascular
Stair-treadmill ergometer, general 662 43
Strength Training
Standard Bench Press 2 15 135
Seated Biceps Curl 2 20 70
Triceps Pull-down 2 25 110
TOTALS: 662 43 6 60 315

The food diary will be posted tonight after dinner. A treat tonight as we are going to Wings Plus for chicken wings!

The food diary:

March 30, 2012

FOODS Calories Carbs Fat Protein Cholest Sodium Sugars Fiber
Breakfast
Generic – Egg Scrambled – Large (Usda Data), 1 egg 70 1g 3g 3g 139mg 44mg 0g 0g
Penn Dutch – Pork Sausage Links, 1 link 209 0g 19g 8g 41mg 562mg 1g 0g
Lunch
Eric’s burgers – hamburger , 1 patty 200 0g 11g 22g 75mg 75mg 0g 0g
Dinner
Crystal – Hot Sauce, 0.5 container (35 tsp ea.) 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 2,363mg 0g 0g
chicken wings – chicken wings, 8 pieces 648 0g 43g 60g 184mg 904mg 0g 0g
publix unsalted butter – unsalted butter, 1 tablespoon 100 0g 11g 0g 30mg 0mg 0g 0g
Snacks
Nature’s Best Perfect Zero Carb Isopure Creamy Vanilla – Creamy Vanilla, 2 scoop 210 0g 1g 50g 5mg 320mg 0g 0g
Liquids
Lipton – Decaffeinated Tea Bags, 3 Tea Bag 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
Home – Water, 80 oz 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
Supplements
Bsn – N.O. Xplode, 1 scoop 25 6g 0g 0g 0mg 235mg 0g 0g
Nature’s Best Perfect Zero Carb Isopure Creamy Vanilla – Creamy Vanilla, 2 scoop 210 0g 1g 50g 5mg 320mg 0g 0g
Centrum – Centrum Silver Supplement, 1 Tablet 5 2g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 1g 0g
Fiber Choice – Plus Antioxidants, 1 tablets 8 4g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 2g
Nature Made – Iron, 0.5 tablet 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
Patenthealth,Llc – Trigosamine, 3 capsules 15 2g 0g 1g 0mg 100mg 0g 0g
TOTAL: 1,700 15g 89g 194g 479mg 4,923mg 2g 2g

Next week could be the week I crack the magic 230 pound barrier and a celebration will ensue!!

Everyone have a great weekend!!

March 30, 2012 - Posted by | Health and Fitness, Running, Weight Training | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. I think a decent run can be achieved on a treadmill depending upon how easy or hard the individual makes it…

    I loved reading this post though… I have fallen off the treadmill myself haha

    cheers

    Comment by bearrunner | March 30, 2012 | Reply

  2. Yeah, treadmills do have their place in training. For me, I need a treadmill when the ground is covered with ice & snow. You may need one in July just to get out of the heat & humidity. When I was just starting out, I definitely needed the treadmill to help me keep my pace consistent. Eventually, I headed outdoors but still needed the tool of the pace alert settings on my Garmin. Now I’m much better at pacing myself, but in the beginning, I needed the help!

    Comment by Jen | March 30, 2012 | Reply

    • Yes, Jen, that is what I am trying to do, find a comfortable running pace. It seems, after I get warmed up, 5 or 6 mph is comfortable. I just need to work on the endurance.
      Speaking of comfort, what kind of shirt does Paul wear? My normal tank-top creeps up to my throat and chokes me… which is somewhat annoying!

      It also looks like the Disney folks are not refunding my fee so, I will be running the ToT and the Wine and Dine. I don’t know if I’ll be ready to do 26 miles, but, Tealas fathers birthday is that weekend, so we will probably come up.

      Comment by magnuminsp | March 30, 2012 | Reply

      • Eric,
        For running in warm weather, I am still looking for a good singlet. In the summer, I go without a shirt. I have a Puma singlet that I just bought and ran in today (http://www.runningwarehouse.com/descpageMRA-PMBSI.html). I try to buy a smaller size so that it doesn’t move around that much when I run. I also look for the ones that are very soft with no seams. Sore nipples and underarms aren’t any fun. A lot of it is personal preference along with trial and error.
        -Paul

        Comment by Paul | March 31, 2012

  3. Paul,
    Thanks!
    I think I will go with these: http://www.runningwarehouse.com/descpageMRA-SMIFXS.html as they match my shoes! Add in the shorts: http://www.runningwarehouse.com/descpageMRA-SMIFTS4.html , I’ll at least look good!

    Comment by magnuminsp | March 31, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

