Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

It’s Tuesday…..Leg day!

Now that I am back in the swing of things, today was leg day. I would have to say, that working out legs has always been my favorite exercise. I also have to talk to the gym owner about getting more machines or adding weight to the ones currently present as I am already topping out the machines!

The workout:

EXERCISES Calories Minutes Sets Reps Weight
Cardiovascular
Mowing lawn, general 589 60
Strength Training
Leg extension single 3 10 130
Leg extension double 1 10 230
Leg press single 3 10 230
Leg press double 1 15 405
Reverse leg curl single 3 10 90
Reverse leg curl double 1 15 170
TOTALS: 589 60 12 70 1,255

The numbers in red, are the maximum weight on the machine. I may have to start doing squats, which I hate, and they are not very good for ones back, especially mine!

While I am on the subject of weight, I lost another pound and am back on the path of weight loss.

The iron supplement seems to be helping, although, it also is contributing to the constipation issue. Fortunately, we just happened to have some Fiber Choice – Plus Antioxidant tablets in the cabinet, so instead of taking two, which is the recommended dosage, I took one so as to not use up all of my carbs on one thing. It also says on the package, “may cause bloating”..UUGGGGGGGG!!! Fortunately, the bloating was minimal! 🙂

Speaking of supplements, the Isopure shake is doing what it is supposed to. It provides plenty of protein with no carbs or gluten! The trick is to mix it properly, which is accomplished with one of our trusty shaker bottles that have a screen inside that breaks everything up, and the mixture itself. As is often the case, I read the directions and then, promptly, discard them. Instead of using 10 ounces of water, I use 8 and four ice cubes. After shaking vigorously for 15 seconds, it is in a semi-shake condition and tastes fine.

The food diary will be up later on tonight.

In the meantime, a little update on two issues.

First, the Ducane 4400.

After discovering this:

I contacted Weber, who now owns Ducane and inquired as to the warranty on the fire-box. The response, was less than satisfactory, and here it is:

Thank you for your reply. Thank you for the photos Eric. From what I can see, there is not an issue that warranty a replacement of your firebox. The warranty covers rust through or burn through. Your warranty is also still active until September of 2014 so if it gets worse let us know.

If you need further assistance, please let me know.

For those that know me, our grills are a big part of our lives and need to be dependable.

My response was as follows:

If I remove that rust, I am sure there will be holes there. Is that what needs to be done? I don’t want to make it worse than it is.

Apparently, the folks at Weber do not understand what the sight of large clumps of rust indicate. I am eagerly awaiting their reply!

Issue number two, my beloved Saucony  ProGrid Guide 5 shoes.  I made a simple, at least to me, inquiry to determine two things, but first, Saucony, in their infinite wisdom, decided that the only shoe in their entire line that comes in a 4E width, is the previously mentioned PGG5.

My inquiry was twofold.

  1. Do you plan on offering larger sizes for any of your other shoes besides the PGG5?
  2. Do you plan on offering the PGG5 in any other color in the 4E size?

Two simple enough questions…or so I thought! Below is the reply.

Dear Eric,
 
Thank you for your inquiry. The ProGrid Guide 5 comes the color white/silver/royal in wide and extra wide. The extra wide width is the larges width we manufacture. I am unaware of any plans for the shoe to be made in wider widths than what we currently manufacture. I apologize for any inconvenience.
 
Kind Regards,
Bruce
Ecommerce Customer Service
In general, I am not that hard to satisfy, however, I am still pondering the qualifications of the individual who responded and if he actually read my question. I have re-sent the question in its simplest form. We shall see what sort of reply I get.
And, as I am typing this, here is the reply I received to the simplified question:
Dear Eric,
 
At this time, this is the only style as well as the only color made in 4E at this time through out 2012. It is possible that we may make more styles and colors next year.
 
Sincerely,
Cathy
Ecommerce Consumer Service
It looks like I am stuck with these shoes, I  guess I will have to order a couple of sets right before the race in October. They have a real snazzy pair of black and yellow shoes which would look cool at night! 😦
Time now for a little icy-hot on the legs, then, off to mow the lawn.
As my knee was a little sore and it was raining, no lawn mowing! 🙂
Here is the food diary:

March 27, 2012

FOODS Calories Carbs Fat Protein Cholest Sodium Sugars Fiber
Breakfast
Jones All Natural Golden Brown – Breakfast Sausage Link-Fully Cooked, 3 Links 250 1g 24g 7g 45mg 380mg 0g 0g
Lipton – Decaffeinated Tea Bags, 3 Tea Bag 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
Lunch
Claussen Pickles – Kosher Dill Halves, 1/2 pickle half 5 1g 0g 0g 0mg 270mg 0g 0g
Boars Head – Roast Beef, 6 slices 240 2g 8g 45g 90mg 240mg 0g 0g
Kraft Natural Cheese – Extra Sharp Cheddar, 1 oz or 28g 120 0g 10g 6g 30mg 180mg 0g 0g
Dinner
Whole Chicken (Roasted;After Skin/Bones Removed) – Homemade Roasted Whole Chicken, 0.25 chicken (after skin and bones removed) 300 0g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
Birds Eye – Steamfresh Fresh Frozen Vegetables Asparagus, Gold & White Corn, Baby Carrots, 1/6 cup 18 3g 0g 1g 0mg 4mg 1g 0g
Snacks
Kraft Natural Cheese – Extra Sharp Cheddar, 2 oz or 28g 240 0g 20g 12g 60mg 360mg 0g 0g
Nature’s Best Perfect Zero Carb Isopure Creamy Vanilla – Creamy Vanilla, 2 scoop 210 0g 1g 50g 5mg 320mg 0g 0g
Liquids
Lipton – Decaffeinated Tea Bags, 3 Tea Bag 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
Supplements
Bsn – N.O. Xplode, 1 scoop 25 6g 0g 0g 0mg 235mg 0g 0g
Centrum – Centrum Silver Supplement, 1 Tablet 5 2g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 1g 0g
Fiber Choice – Plus Antioxidants, 1 tablets 8 4g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 2g
Nature’s Best Perfect Zero Carb Isopure Creamy Vanilla – Creamy Vanilla, 2 scoop 210 0g 1g 50g 5mg 320mg 0g 0g
Nature Made – Iron, 1 tablet 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
TOTAL: 1,631 19g 64g 171g 235mg 2,309mg 2g 2g
March 27, 2012 - Posted by | Gluten-Free Foods and Diet, Health and Fitness, Running, Weight Training | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

