Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Fantastic Friday! :)

Today is a fantastic day on several fronts!

First, the fine folks at Weber have contacted me and hopefully, will be able to send me replacement parts for the mighty Ducane 4400, which, unbeknownst to me, has developed a rust issue, pictured below!

Next, I see that Zappos has sent my shoes and they will be arriving via UPS later on today! I also see that Mass Nutrition has sent my new no carb, gluten-free shake mix, which will also be arriving today!

And finally, the morning workout. I’ll start with the weight portion as today  is a “light” day.

EXERCISES Calories Minutes Sets Reps Weight
Strength Training
Standard Bench Press 2 15 135
Seated Biceps Curl 2 15 70
Triceps Pull-down 2 15 65
TOTALS: 448 44 6 45 270

An easy workout that was preceded by the cardio workout below:

Workout Summary
Workout type Manual Cool down
Equipment Stationary Bike Elapsed time 2
Date March 23, 2012 Average rpm 68
Time Maximum rpm 72
User Data Distance (miles) 0.33
Age 51 Calories 10
Weight 234 Totals
Workout Elapsed time 22
Elapsed time 20 Average heart rate 140
Average heart rate 140 Maximum heart rate 174  
Maximum heart rate 174 Average rpm 78
Average rpm 78 Maximum rpm 130
Maximum rpm 130 Distance (miles) 4.54
Distance (miles) 4.21 Calories 219
Calories 209

The bike was actually done after the treadmill, but I am posting it this way for a reason! 😉

Workout Summary
Workout type Manual Cool down
Equipment Treadmill Elapsed time 2
Date March 23, 2012 Average speed (mph) 2.5
Time Maximum Speed (mph) 3
User Data Distance (miles) 0.08
Age 51 Calories 10
Weight 234 Totals
Workout Elapsed time 22
Elapsed time 20 Average heart rate 126
Average heart rate 126 Maximum heart rate 175
Maximum heart rate 175 Average speed (mph) 3.8
Average speed (mph) 3.9 Maximum Speed (mph) 5
Maximum Speed (mph) 5 Average pace (miles) 15.21
Average pace (miles) 15.21 Distance (miles) 1.38
Distance (miles) 1.3 Calories 229
Calories 219

The reason that the treadmill results are posted last, is because this was a “milestone” day!

I was concerned that after yesterdays leg workout, I would have to take it easy today on the cardio portion of the workout. Learning from the mistake I made Wednesday, of starting to run without warming up properly, I decided today to warm up for 10 minutes. I also added 2% for the incline during the warm-up. After ten minutes, I increased the speed and returned the incline back to zero. There was no pain present in either calf! My Quads were a little sore, but that will pass.

The numbers that are bolded above are very important. First on the bike. I like to “sprint” to the finish so the last two minutes of the workout, I increase the work level, to 12 in this case, and go as fast as I can for one minute. That is the max revolutions of 130 rpm and the heart rate of 174 bpm. That number was down to 116 bpm by the end of the cool down.

On the treadmill, I was just happy to 1. do the entire workout without having to stop to stretch or anything else, and 2. to maintain a 12 minute mile pace for the last 10 minutes.

Overall, I am quite pleased with the progression of my running. I am pretty much pain-free and I have plenty “left in the tank”! 🙂

Tonight as a reward, chicken wings. I am going to try to make them so that the calorie count is down from other versions. I also have a good bunch of calories left to burn today.

One other note, as you can see by the tables above, the weight has stagnated at 234 pounds for the entire week. To some, that may because for alarm. To me, I know the cause of the stagnation, and it is simply the addition of a few pounds of muscle. I know this because my waist is smaller, my shirts fit tighter and I also had to adjust the brace for my leg.

The food diary will be posted tonight and I hope everyone has a Fantastic Friday as well!

And, here is the food diary:

March 23, 2012

FOODS Calories Carbs Fat Protein Cholest Sodium Sugars Fiber
Breakfast
Bsn – N.O. Xplode, 1 scoop 25 6g 0g 0g 0mg 235mg 0g 0g
Centrum – Centrum Silver Supplement, 1 Tablet 5 2g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 1g 0g
Lipton – Decaffeinated Tea Bags, 2 Tea Bag 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
Lunch
Eric’s burgers – hamburger , 1 patty 200 0g 11g 22g 75mg 75mg 0g 0g
Dinner
Crystal – Hot Sauce, 0.5 container (35 tsp ea.) 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 2,363mg 0g 0g
Smart Balance Light, Buttery Spread W/Omega-3 – Butter, 0.25 container (32 tbsp or 13gs ea.) 400 0g 40g 0g 0mg 640mg 0g 0g
Purdue – Whole Chicken Wing, 9.5 pieces 998 0g 71g 90g 546mg 356mg 0g 0g
Lipton – Decaffeinated Tea Bags, 3 Tea Bag 0 0g 0g 0g 0mg 0mg 0g 0g
Snacks
Nature’s Best Perfect Zero Carb Isopure Creamy Vanilla – Creamy Vanilla, 2 scoop 210 0g 1g 50g 5mg 320mg 0g 0g
Kraft Natural Cheese – Extra Sharp Cheddar, 1 oz or 28g 120 0g 10g 6g 30mg 180mg 0g 0g
Peter Pan – Crunchy Peanut Butter, 2 tbsp (32g) 200 6g 16g 8g 0mg 110mg 3g 3g
TOTAL: 2,158 14g 149g 176g 656mg 4,279mg 4g 3

The Isopure shake arrived and all in all, it isn’t too bad. I chose the vanilla flavor, but next time, I’ll get the cookies and cream! I’ll have a review of that product in a week or two.

On the shoe front, one of the three pairs of shoes I ordered fit properly, so I now have a pair of walking around shoes. I am waiting for Zappos to carry other colors of my running shoes for night-time use!

Tomorrow will be an off day with the exception of mowing the lawn and Sunday is Sunday morning golf.

I hope everyone has a great weekend!

March 23, 2012 - Posted by | Health and Fitness, Running, The Ducane 4400, Weight Training | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

