Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

This is the end……….and a beginning!

Those that have followed this blog and more specifically, my running adventures, are aware that injuries have put a damper on my goal to run in the Disney half-marathon this October. The decision to run or not, has been made for me. The registration for the race is full, so, I will have to wait until next year. Don’t fret Jen, we are still coming up to support you! 🙂

It has been a frustrating three-month period since I originally injured my calf. Thinking it was healed only to re-injure it, time and time again. The good news is that the left knee is fully healed and there is virtually no pain present no matter what I do. There is a little soreness and the occasional lock-up, but it is tolerable and hopefully, I won’t require any more surgery until the whole mess gets replaced.

Enough of the gloom and doom! The good news! I have rediscovered my golf swing and after analysis by several who know far more than I with regards to golfing equipment and swings, etc., my golf game is returning to its previous incarnation and I can actually enjoy the game again.

The main improvement would be the acquisition of a new set of clubs. The old Callaway irons and knock-off woods have served me well over the years, but, injury, old age, lack of mobility and a host of other things have necessitated the need for replacement equipment. The new equipment consists of, 2008 Callaway Big Bertha irons with the I-brid 4 and 5 irons with regular graphite shafts. The new woods, actually metal, are the Callaway Diablo 3, 5, and 7 woods, also with regular graphite shafts. The trusty Callaway “454” driver with the Pro Launch stiff shaft is still in the bag..for now! 🙂

The purpose of the graphite shafts is to lessen the impact and subsequent pain associated with steel shafts. Although the actual weight of the graphite shafts is only half that of steel, apparently, the swinging mass is far less and there is less strain on the left side of your body. Since my left elbow, shoulder, and knee have all had some sort of trauma, anything to lessen the shock is a good thing! As one of the pros who was analyzing my swing said, “It is amazing you can actually play this game”!

I will return to the gym next week and resume my workout program and have already started riding the bicycle, first for 5 miles then eventually 10, 15, etc. I will also attempt, sometime in September, to resume training for running in next years Disney half and hopefully, a few races before that one.

As I hear the doorbell ringing and the big brown truck outside, that means that my newest clubs have arrived. Time to go work on my golf game!

July 13, 2011 - Posted by | Running, Weight Training | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. lol, i could never get that word correct… thanks… 96 is a lot warmer than it is here, I think it is 85 – 88.. I remember running in Florida when we were vacation and it was one HOT run!

    Cheers

    Comment by bearrunner | July 20, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

