Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Weight Training and Running Update

As we were gone since last Wednesday, there wasn’t a lot of training going on!

This Wednesday, I was back at the gym for my back and shoulders workout.

Weight Training Back and Shoulders

Wednesday

Back

Shoulder pull downs: Three sets of 10 using 150 lbs. for weight.

Seated row: Four sets of 10 using 200 lbs. of weight. This is all the weight the machine holds so now, I may have to find a different machine or ask the gym owners to get a better machine.

Shoulder shrugs: I do this exercise on the “Smith” machine as it allows you to maintain control of the weight, which in-turn, allows you to target the muscle you are trying to work. Three sets of 10 using 410 lbs. of weight.

Shoulders

Shoulder press: I did three sets of 10 reps with 170 lbs. using both arms.

The “21s”: For this exercise, you take two dumbbells and lift them straight up and out in front of you, seven reps. Then, you  place the weights at your stomach, and pull the weights out to each side, then back to the starting position, seven times. You then press the weight over your head, seven times.  For the second set, I lift the weight straight out and up seven times, then the second and third positions are the same. For the third set, I rotate my hands so my palms are facing up, and lift the weight straight out in front of me, seven times, then the other two exercises are the same.You do these three exercises all in a row, hence the name, the 21s.  There are alternate methods to perform this exercise, but, this is the one I prefer. Three sets of those using 20 lbs. of weight and the shoulder workout is done.

Thursday

Today is an off day with the exception of a five-mile bike ride this morning and later on this evening.

Running

It has been almost three weeks since I injured my right calf. It appears to have healed as there was no pain whatsoever after walking around Disney for three days. Monday will be a return to the training program for the Disney Food and Wine 1/2 Marathon.

It will be a slow progression of walking/running as I am now in the “six-month window” prior to the event.

My weight has remained constant at 224 pounds and between the cycling and running/walking, I expect to lose this pesky 20 pounds within the next two months. Getting down to 200 pounds has been one of the goals when I started this whole rejuvenation adventure.

Tomorrow will be the standard chest and arms workout followed by more cycling.

Next week, if all goes well, the real training begins!

Stay tuned………………………………………………..

 

April 14, 2011 - Posted by | Running, Weight Training | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

