Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Weight Training Day 19..Disaster strikes! :(

Today started out fine. I felt really good and it looks like at least one of the three pairs of shoes I ordered from Zappos is going to work out. The Asics GT 2160 shoes appear to be the winners although, the Brooks Addiction 9 shoes might also make the cut.

I started the workout with five minutes on the bicycle, then on to leg extensions. Five sets of six reps using 85 lbs. as the weight, alternating legs. So far, so good.

I then went to the leg press machine. Three sets of 10 reps using 270 lbs. as the weight, alternating legs.

I then added weight to give a total of 450 lbs. I had done two sets of calf raises while doing the leg press exercises and my calves felt fine.

I did one set of 10 reps using 450 lbs. as the weight for the leg press, then, “racked” the weight to do calf raises. On the fifth repetition, my right calf pretty much locked up and that was the end of the workout.

I sat down on a nearby bench to stretch my leg, but that didn’t help. I went over to the calf raise machine to try to stretch out my calf and that made things even worse. I limped out of the gym and currently, my right calf is wrapped in an Ace bandage and ice is being applied. I have to work today so Advil will have to do until I get home and can take a muscle relaxer and more ice.

I am also going to call the doctor to see what can be done about my left knee locking up as well as my calf. It appears as though whatever I did to it almost a month ago, hasn’t healed and in fact, has gotten much worse.

I was excited because both the Brooks Addiction and the Asics GTs felt really good and I thought next week I might be able to start running again.

Hopefully, this calf injury isn’t serious and rest will fix it.

Time will tell.

This is indeed a very sad day for me.

March 29, 2011 - Posted by | Running, Weight Training | , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Hi! Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with us so I
    came to check it out. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Great blog and brilliant design.

    Comment by Carey | March 6, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

