Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Smoking a Boston Butt on the Weber Q 200

If you have been following this blog for any length of time, you may have noticed that the Ducane 4400 has been given some time off. Fortunately, the Ducane isn’t jealous as it knows, it will be used again! That having been said, since I purchased the Weber Q, I have cooked everything I can think of on it. Every meal came out perfect. The only thing I haven’t tried is to smoke something on this grill. Now is the time!

Some may ask, “Why try to smoke something on the portable grill when you have a perfectly good smoker?”

There are several reasons:

  1. Smoking something on any grill will add quite a bit of flavor to the grill itself, which will in-turn, impart some flavor to whatever you are cooking.
  2. Why not?
  3. I wanted to see if it could be done and what it would take to do it.

Let’s jump right in, shall we?

The first thing that had to be done was to make accommodations for the charcoal and wood. I was sure that an hour and a half at Lowes would provide me with something that I could get to work. I almost bought a Weber grate that I would have had to cut up to get to fit, but decided against it.

When I got home, I looked around and as usual, there is a reason I keep many things that others would throw out. Some day you may want to use such and such part and wish you had it. This would have been the case if I had thrown out the old MasterForge grill! Since I didn’t, the partially rusted out flame-tamer fit right in the base of the Q!

The next task would be how to separate the coals/wood from the butt. I remember on the BBQSource message board making a drawing for someone using bricks in the middle of a Weber Kettle grill to section it off. I know I have at least one brick around this house! There was also the dilemma as to what grate I would use. The cast iron grate that goes with this grill would probably stay too hot. The stainless grate from the MasterForge doesn’t quite fit. I decided to use the two grates from our toaster oven!

Some may ask why use a grate over the coals and wood? The answer is, that to control the heat, you will most likely have to put something on top of the coals/wood to act as a damper. Which brings us to the following…..A long time ago, my Father gave me this pan that was aluminum and at one time, Teflon coated.  He put it in his grill and cooked all the Teflon off. This particular pan was used to fry fish with on a grill, specifically, grouper, cubed, with tempera batter. This pan would be perfect to hold water to A) Add moisture to the cooking process, and B) To help regulate the heat. Here is the pan:

And, here it is installed, ready for use:

As you can see, some aluminum foil had to be added in order to keep the smoke from escaping from one side of the grill. The same thing had to be done when I cooked the ribs. You will also notice that areas on either side of the tray holding the charcoal are filled in with foil as well. This was to keep any coals from wandering under the tray and into the catch tray.

After about an hour of figuring out how to do this, I was ready for the meat! One Boston Butt that has been in the refrigerator overnight with McKormicks “pork rub” liberally applied to it.

I also had the wood soaking overnight and although some say soaking the wood isn’t necessary, I prefer it!

And, at long last, the butt on the grill!

I closed the lid and let the smoking begin. As you can see, the smoke is exiting out of the right side  of the grill. When Weber designed this grill, there is a gap on either side where the side tables fold into. This worked out perfectly as if needed, I could add some aluminum foil to keep heat in to control the temperature. As it turned out, I didn’t need to control the heat with the exception of making sure there was water in the pan inside the grill.

The temperature stayed right around 250-275 degrees throughout both cooking cycles.

Meanwhile, it was time for lunch! All this cooking and I still hadn’t eaten anything. The Ducane was called in to cook a few burgers for the wife, Marshall, and myself.

Now, after four hours, it was time to restock everything. Having the Ducane nearby was a lucky break. I transferred all of the bricks, grates, and meat, right onto the Ducanes grates and closed the lid. Everything stayed warm while I reloaded the Weber Q! Back to round two!

After another four hours, the Butt was done. The internal temperature was 160 degrees. I let it rest for 15 minutes before slicing into it.

The meat was, as you can see, very tender and juicy and full of flavor.

All in all, a very successful experiment.

I probably won’t do this again as it was time-consuming, but then again, I now have some other materials that will make it much easier and for just the family, one butt is plenty. Speaking of which, the remainder of the butt is currently residing in the crock-pot and tonight, we will have pulled pork!

Now that it is the next day, someone has to clean the grill! The charcoal dust is everywhere inside the grill, but, a simple wash-down with the hose, and all is as it was prior to this event. The grill now has a distinct odor to it, that of smoked wood, which was exactly what I was hoping would happen.

I can’t wait to cook something else on this grill to see how much flavor was imparted to it!

Now that this task is complete, I will be writing my official review of the Q as well as an updated review of the Ducane shortly.

In a few words, the Weber Q can do almost anything any other grill can do and being a Weber, it will last. I would highly recommend this grill to anyone looking for either a portable grill or, just something for 2-4 people.

March 28, 2011 - Posted by | Home, Pork, The Weber Q 200 | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

