Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Running Day 26…Weight Training Day 14.

Weight Training Day 10 Chest and Arms..Heavy!

Abdominals


Sit up bench: Two sets of 30 reps, dipping for the first 10 reps, regular sit ups for the second 10 reps, dips, for the third set, and then, holding in a semi-sitting position for 10 seconds at the end of each set.

Standing leg raise machine: Two sets of 30 reps.

It should be noted, that the weight numbers are just the plate weights. They do not include bar weight, machine weight, or any other numbers, unless noted. I do this because the machines tend to lessen the weight as opposed to, take for instance, the regular bench press with a bar and weights. The bar weighs 45 lbs. so the true weight on a bench would be 225 lbs. with four 45 lb. plates on the bar.

Chest

Bench press: One set of as many reps as I can do, in this case, 6 reps with 270 lbs. as the weight, followed by, Five sets of 6 reps, 230 lbs. as the weight.

Incline Bench Press: One set of as many reps as I can do, in this case, 6 reps with 180 lbs. as the weight, followed by, Five sets of 6 reps, 140 lbs. as the weight.

Fly Machine: Five sets of 6 reps, 130 lbs. as the weight.

Biceps

Preacher curls: One set of as many reps as I can do, in this case, 3 reps with 90 lbs. as the weight, including the  bar = 135 lbs., followed by, Five sets of 6 reps, 60 lbs. as the weight, with the bar, 105 lbs. is the actual weight.

Alternating Curls: One set of as many reps as I can do, in this case, 4 reps with 50 lbs. as the weight (dumbbells), followed by, Five sets of 6 reps, 40 lbs. as the weight. Unfortunately, my left wrist got injured during the first set and I may have to either get a brace for it or do a different exercise. The left wrist is loose due to the removal of my radial head (I was a class I, but the butcher doctor decided to remove the radial head anyway..just for fun!) in my elbow, some 20 years ago. That ordeal will be detailed in an upcoming post. Stay tuned for that…it isn’t pretty!

Hammer curls: One set of as many reps as I can do, in this case, 4 reps with 50 lbs. as the weight (dumbbell), followed by, Five sets of 6 reps, 40 lbs. as the weight.

Standing machine curls: One set of 40 using 40 lbs. as the weight. (finishing and shaping exercise)

Triceps

Triceps pull down machine: Five sets of 6 reps using 120 lbs. as the weight.

Overhead triceps presses: Five sets of 6 reps using 70 lbs. as the weight.

Rope pull downs: One set of 50 reps using 40 lbs. as the weight. (finishing and shaping exercise)

Today’s gym session was very difficult to get through. Although I was supposed to rest this weekend, that didn’t happen! The left wrist issue isn’t new and has been a problem before. If a good brace cannot be found, I will just have to find another exercise to do.

This weekend was also a high-carb weekend as I indulged in beer, tacos, french fries, etc.., which also seemed to weigh me down. The good news is that it didn’t affect my weight as it was still 225 lbs. at the morning weigh in, after working out.

Running Day 26

Saturday, I decided that my right calf felt good enough to mow the lawn, so I did. Afterwords, the calf felt OK, just a little sore, so I figured that todays run would put me back on pace. This wasn’t the case.

After this mornings workout, I felt warmed up and ready to go. My calf was hurting at the gym, but not any worse than it had before. As I began the run, there was pain in my right calf, not too bad, but then again, it hasn’t gotten any better since last week! After about a quarter of a lap, the pain intensified to the point where I could barely walk. I made it around the block limping most of the way and decided that was enough.

My leg is wrapped up and has an ice pack on it as I type. I am hoping to get through todays inspection and then, possibly trying to walk with the wife and Marshall tonight. If there is still pain, I will most likely have to withdraw from Saturdays 5K and see a doctor regarding the injury to my calf.

I am going to call my knee doctor to see if he can recommend a good  doctor for my calf. I hope it is nothing serious, but I suspect it will take at least two weeks to heal, unless some type of surgery is required.

As tomorrow is slated to be a “heavy” leg workout day, it, along with the run may be postponed.

This would be one of those “setbacks” I knew I would have to face! Hopefully, a minor one!

8:00 PM:

Tonight, I decided to go for a walk/run with the wife and Marshall. We alternated walking with Marshall and completed one mile. I was concentrating on running heel to toe and that seems to help the calf issue. Unfortunately, the left knee was locking up slightly, but that was easily corrected. My spirits were a little low today as this morning was almost a complete disaster on both the running and weigh lifting fronts. Now, there is renewed hope that I will be able to run my first 5K event ever!

Hope everyone has a great night and a better tomorrow!

March 14, 2011 - Posted by | Home, Running, Weight Training | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

