Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Running Day 25 ………………Weight Training Day 13

Running Day 25

Yesterday was an off day to give myself some time to heal. Today, I decided to try out my new Asics shoes for running. They are supposed to be for walking and just a general shoe. I decided to start the run with a walk. After 50 feet, my calves were both hurting as well as my left knee. I decided to try to run and that didn’t last long!

I did make it around the block and then came and changed shoes. Now that I had the Brooks on, the pain for the most part, went away. I started to run and there was slight pain in my right calf. I completed the run alternating running and walking when my calf started to hurt. One mile down.

I went to the gym and worked out. Then I came home and ran another mile. These laps went much better and although there was still pain in my right calf, it was tolerable. Saturday and Sunday are off days and I’ll be back at it Monday.

I have also decided to change-up my pattern. On days I work out, I will go to the gym first and then, when I am fully warmed up, I’ll run hopefully for 15-20 minutes and whatever distance that turns out to be, it will be. This is the first step in the 1/2 marathon training program.

Weight Training Day 13 Chest and Arms..light!

Abdominals

Sit ups: One set of 20 reps.

My abs are actually sore and I am most likely going to work abs on Mondays and Fridays, only.

 

Chest

Bench Press: Two sets of 20 repetitions using 140 lbs. as the weight.

Flys: Two sets of 20 reps using 100 lbs. as the weight.

Cable cross-overs: Two sets of 20 reps using 40 lbs. as the weight.

Biceps

Preacher curls: Two sets of 15 reps using 50 lbs. as the weight.

Hammer curls: Two sets of 15 reps using 20 lbs. for the weight.

Standing curls: Two sets of 20 reps 40 lbs. as the weight.

Triceps

Triceps pull-down machine:Two sets of 20 reps using 80 lbs. as the weight.

Overhead press: Two sets of 20 reps using 50 lbs. as the weight.

Rope pull downs: Two sets of 20 reps using 40 lbs. as the weight.

So far, the weight training is going better than expected, while the running isn’t where I thought it would be. I am struggling mentally with the injuries. I have never been injured while participating in any athletics and it is frustrating me to no end. I will most likely end up having to see a doctor regarding my calf and another surgery to fix whatever is wrong with the back of my knee, which as of yet, hasn’t locked up while running, but I can only imagine the pain that would be present if it were to lock up while running.

I hope everyone has a great weekend and I’ll be back at it Monday..bright and early!

March 11, 2011 - Posted by | Running, Weight Training | , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] Today was also the day when I decided to try out my newly acquired Dr. Scholls inserts. I did my normal stretching and set the machine up for 3 miles at a 6 mph pace. My plan was to run for 3¬†minutes, then walk for one minute. When I put my shoes on with the inserts in place, I noticed that although my feet were much more comfortable, it seems as though I am being pitched forward. Where do I remember that feeling from? Last year […]

    Pingback by Wednesday…Going to Disney….MAYBE!!! :( « Eric Van De Vens Blog | May 9, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

