Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Running Day 23..Weight Training Day 10

Running Day 23

Monday is always a bad day! Today was no exception!  I expect to be refreshed, but, as there was no rest to speak of over the weekend, I am still tired! I got up at 4:30 and performed my usual ritual. By 4:50 am I was ready to run. I stretched for five minutes, and began my run.

I ran the first lap and the weekend of walking around the RenFest was showing in the soreness of my legs. Sunday, as I was washing the padding in my brace, I didn’t wear it while tromping around the RenFest grounds. As a result, there was soreness in my left knee for the first time in two months. Not bad, damage type soreness, but just use, soreness.

The right calf has gotten better but still isn’t 100%. I don’t know if it will be ready for the 5K Heart-run in two weeks, but if not, I’ll have to just run/walk it. There is a new problem! My left heel now hurts and it may be a bone spur in the very back of my heel. I can stretch it out, so maybe it is muscle related. Time will tell.

As this is a heavy workout day, I wanted to save some energy as well as not over-stress my legs. I ran one mile and wasn’t really breathing hard. I wasn’t sweating either as apparently, no one bothered to tell me that a cold front came in last night! 59 degrees at the start of the run.

Off to the gym…………………..Maybe!!!!!!!!

As we are in a “high security mode” until our alarm gets installed this week, I hid my keys to the Durango. I hid them so well, that it took 20 minutes to find them! I have a spare set of keys, but the battery is dead on the key-fob and the alarm would go off waking up the wife, which probably wouldn’t be good! My access tag to the gym is also on my “main” key chain! After locating my keys, now, it was off to the gym!

Weight Training Day 10 Chest and Arms..Heavy!

This week is the first week of Power Factor Training. All of the sets will consist of heavier weight and 5 sets of 6 repetitions. This method is used in order to build muscle and strength quickly.

It should be noted, that the weight numbers are just the plate weights. They do not include bar weight, machine weight, or any other numbers, unless noted. I do this because the machines tend to lessen the weight as opposed to, take for instance, the regular bench press with a bar and weights. The bar weighs 45 lbs. so the true weight on a bench would be 225 lbs. with four 45 lb. plates on the bar.

Chest

Bench press: One set of as many reps as I can do, in this case, 4 reps with 270 lbs. as the weight, followed by, Five sets of 6 reps, 230 lbs. as the weight.

Incline Bench Press: One set of as many reps as I can do, in this case, 4 reps with 180 lbs. as the weight, followed by, Five sets of 6 reps, 140 lbs. as the weight.

Fly Machine: One set of as many reps as I can do, in this case, 4 reps with 150 lbs. as the weight, followed by, Five sets of 6 reps, 115 lbs. as the weight.

Biceps

Preacher curls: One set of as many reps as I can do, in this case, 3 reps with 90 lbs. as the weight, including the  bar = 135 lbs., followed by, Five sets of 6 reps, 60 lbs. as the weight, with the bar, 105 lbs. is the actual weight.

Alternating Curls: One set of as many reps as I can do, in this case, 4 reps with 50 lbs. as the weight (dumbbells), followed by, Five sets of 6 reps, 40 lbs. as the weight.

Hammer curls: One set of as many reps as I can do, in this case, 4 reps with 50 lbs. as the weight (dumbbell), followed by, Five sets of 6 reps, 40 lbs. as the weight.

Standing machine curls: Two sets of 20 using 40 lbs. as the weight. (finishing and shaping exercise)

Triceps

Triceps pull down machine: Five sets of 6 reps using 100 lbs. as the weight.

Overhead triceps presses: Five sets of 6 reps using 60 lbs. as the weight.

Rope pull downs: Two sets of 20 reps using 40 lbs. as the weight. (finishing and shaping exercise)

Abdominals

Sit up bench: Two sets of 50 reps done in the following manner: 10 reps “dipping” first the right shoulder then the left, for the obliques, followed by 20 standard sit ups, followed by 20 sit-ups where you go almost all the way down, then only come up half way. Next week, I’ll be adding first a 25 lb. weight plate and then, eventually, a 45 lb. plate. I can hardly wait for that!

Due to the late start, I ran out of energy somewhere after the last set of bicep curls. Even with the double dose of NoExplode, I barely finished the workout. Time to eat a couple of hard-boiled eggs, then a day with Marshall.

March 7, 2011 - Posted by | Running, Weight Training | , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

