Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Breaking in the new shoes!

As many of you may have guessed, todays run and gym sessions were canceled, due to the injury that was aggravated yesterday while trying on different shoes.

When the wife came home, she and Marshall were going to go for their normal walk/run around the neighborhood. I decided, as I worked today and my left calf felt OK, I would join them to test out the new shoes. I laced up, stretched, and then we started to walk. After about 20 feet, I began to jog. I jogged for about 30 feet and there was slight pain in my right shin. That went away as quickly as it appeared.

I then jogged about a 1/8th of a mile and there was no pain in either calf! 🙂 In fact, everything was getting looser! I then tried to sprint and to my surprise, was able to sprint 40 yards without any problems. I then walked for a little bit to let Teala and Marshall catch up and then, the big test. A full on run!

I got in a three-point stance and launched. I was at full speed very quickly and I actually ran, full speed for 40 yards! This is probably the first time in 20 years that I have run full speed or anywhere close to it. After this run, I wasn’t breathing heavy or tired. Looks like I am ready to resume running tomorrow! 🙂

Now, on to the shoes. These shoes are by far, the best shoes I have ever had, at least now. We will see how they are long-term. They are light and give me the control that the other shoes didn’t. They also place my body in a “neutral” position. I am not leaning forward or backward. I can control where I want to go as far as leaning forward for more speed. I have virtually no pain whatsoever and my feet don’t get numb, like they did with the New Balance shoes.

Now, I am going to have to get another pair of “walking around” shoes as the New Balance shoes aren’t tolerable. I also have to get a pair of work boots as my Sketchers ripped today!

Tomorrow will be the big day. I am going to try to run 2 miles in the morning before I work out and one mile after the workout. That will be followed by wind sprints at night.Hopefully, everything holds up and I will be back on track for the Disney run. We also have a 5K in two weeks which should be  a good indicator where exactly I am at.

March 3, 2011 - Posted by | Running | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Sounds like they are going to work out for you eh ???

    Comment by bearrunner | March 3, 2011 | Reply

  2. So far, so good! We will see tomorrow.

    Comment by magnuminsp | March 3, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

