Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Running Day 18

As the wife had to go in early today to work, my running schedule was all thrown off! I got up at 4:45, but couldn’t run until Teala and Marshall  left for work/school. On the days that I work out body parts other than legs, I use the morning run as a warm-up and that way, I am ready to go when I get to the gym.

After they left, I started my run. I could feel right away that yesterdays leg workout had taken its toll on my legs. I decided to only run one mile today so as not to injure myself. I made it through the run with no problems, aches, pains or any other issues. Uneventful is the word that comes to mind! 🙂

There are issues that need addressing. Most importantly, the shoes. Every day, I find myself running a different way, shifting my weight from front to back, middle, etc. in my shoes, to get comfortable. I am trying to avoid injuring my calves, the right one in particular as it still hasn’t healed completely from the injury two weeks ago. I am also attempting to thwart off the onset of shin splints, which is a problem I have always had since I was a kid.

I have always run on the front of my feet. In every sport I played, I was also always “on my toes”. This does not go well with running long distances! I am constantly reminding myself to use my entire foot when running.

I am hoping that the new shoes will fix most of these problems. The only other issues are the fatigue factor in my muscles. I am not getting tired from a breathing standpoint, just my legs need to “come around”, and once that happens, I should be able to run as long as I want.

There is a 5K run that the wife wants me to run in while she runs/walks next month. This may be a good barometer of my progress. Then again, it may set me back!

Tomorrow is legs day again at the gym, but I plan on running before I go as a warm up.

Til tomorrow…………………..

February 23, 2011 - Posted by | Home, Running | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

