Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Running..Day 13…Bad Luck! :(

Today, the run started off great. The temperature outside was a crisp 62 degrees and there was no wind. After the first 1/4 of the run, it was obvious that the gluten issue has gone away. The way I can tell is that my senses, more particularly, my sense of smell, returns to its normal self!

While running, I can smell flowers, sprinkler water, and unfortunately, cigarette smoke, from a 1/2 block away!

The first lap was uneventful. It seemed that I could run forever. I wasn’t even breathing heavy and still breathing through my nose.

About 1/4 of the way through the second lap, I felt a “snap” from the back of my right calve. At the Tour de Bar, my good friend Steve was there with a gigantic bandage around one of his calves. I asked him what happened. He said while playing tennis, his calve exploded! In the pictures he showed me, it didn’t look good!

With thoughts of Steve in my head, I immediately stopped running and tried to stretch out my calve. This had no effect. I limped home and continued to stretch. As of this writing, there is no difference. The calve is very tight and painful. I hope I didn’t do any severe damage. Time will tell.

After I get back from dropping Marshall off at Daycare, I’ll have an update.

I am not superstitious, but maybe there is something to the number “13” being bad luck!

February 9, 2011 - Posted by | Running | , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

