Eric Van De Vens Blog

Not just another Word Press blog!

Running…Day 12 Gluten Strikes!!!

After a day off to recover from the Tour de Bar, and actually to recover from the dietary issues is more to the point, it was time to hit the pavement running!

As I exited the front door, a chill of cold air hit me. Apparently, we must be in some sort of cold front! I did my usual stretching and began the run. As I suspected, there were no ill effects, physically, from the Tour de Bar. No cramping, soreness or anything else. Also, and what I was fearing, was the effect that ingestion of gluten has caused.

One of the effects of gluten is a bloating sensation. I am not referring to a little bit of gas type bloating. I am referring to the “third trimester” type of bloating usually associated with pregnancy. The bloating itself isn’t really an issue, it just means you have to go up a notch or two on your belt. Unfortunately, what happens with the excessive bloating is that it expands everything and something has to give. The “something” in my case, would be my lungs. It becomes very difficult to breathe and as far as taking deep, controlled breaths, that is out of the question.

Todays run was one mile. The first lap went well until the 3/4 point, where I began to have trouble breathing. As I ran the second lap, the problem worsened and as a result, I had to stop to catch my breath.

Some may consider this a step backward, but since I know the cause and the fact that hopefully, by Wednesday or Thursday, this issue should be resolved, I have high hopes of getting to the 1 1/2 mile mark by Friday.

According to the test strips, I am still in deep ketosis and as proof of that, I weighed myself this morning and the scale read 228 pounds. I am hoping that by tomorrow or Thursday, I’ll be back to the Sunday morning weight of 225 pounds.

For those that have gluten issues, and for those that don’t understand it, the reaction to gluten takes approximately one week to recover from. Over time, it can take years to recover from as your system gets so damaged, it needs time to repair itself.

To read about my issues, go here: Gloom of Gluten

If you have any of the symptoms, it might be a good idea to get tested. 1 in 135 people have Celiac disease…and do not know it. Others have some sort of food allergy and are usually diagnosed with the catch-all, Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS).

February 8, 2011 - Posted by | Running | , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

